Home Featured Piastri takes third Formula 2 pole in a row at Sochi

Piastri takes third Formula 2 pole in a row at Sochi

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema driver Oscar Piastri extended his Formula 2 championship lead to 19 points by taking his third consecutive pole position at Sochi.

The 30-minute session was brought forward slightly due to incoming weather causing the weekend’s schedule to change.

Piastri ended the first runs in second place, before heading to the top of the timesheets in the final run.

With the supersoft tyres able to do two flying laps, he went even quicker on the final run to displace Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala – who picked up a handy tow from Piastri’s team-mate Robert Shwartzman – from the top spot.

His main championship rival Guanyu Zhou was fourth fastest, half a second off the pace, behind ART Grand Prix’s Theo Pourchaire.

Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung continued his form from Monza with fifth place, while HWA Racelab’s Jake Hughes took a fine sixth in his third F2 qualifying session at the venue he made his debut at last year.

Shwartzman ended up seventh for his home event, ahead of Hitech GP duo Liam Lawson and Juri Vips.

Carlin’s Dan Ticktum is set to start the first race of the weekend from pole position, after ending up 10th fastest.

DAMS’ Marcus Armstrong, ART’s Christian Lundgaard and Virtuosi Racing’s Felipe Drugovich – the latter being reprimanded after practice for not taking to the detour at Turn 2 correctly after running over the sausage kerb – all come next.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m47.465s 12
2 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m47.653s +0.188s 12
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.891s +0.426s 12
4 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m47.994s +0.529s 12
5 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m48.024s +0.559s 12
6 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m48.073s +0.608s 12
7 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m48.098s +0.633s 12
8 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m48.129s +0.664s 12
9 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m48.139s +0.674s 12
10 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m48.171s +0.706s 12
11 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m48.190s +0.725s 12
12 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m48.255s +0.790s 12
13 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi 1m48.286s +0.821s 11
14 David Beckmann Campos Racing 1m48.428s +0.963s 12
15 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m48.587s +1.122s 12
16 Bent Viscaal Trident 1m48.662s +1.197s 12
17 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport 1m48.785s +1.320s 11
18 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m48.989s +1.524s 11
19 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m49.226s +1.761s 11c
20 Marino Sato Trident 1m49.339s +1.874s 12
21 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m49.465s +2.000s 12
22 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 1m50.389s +2.924s 12