Home Featured Piastri extends F2 lead with Sochi feature race win over Pourchaire

Piastri extends F2 lead with Sochi feature race win over Pourchaire

by Sam Williams

Photo: Prema

Oscar Piastri has taken a second straight Formula 2 feature race win in Sochi to increase his championship lead with two rounds remaining.

Piastri made an excellent start from pole position to lead ahead of Theo Pourchaire. Ralph Boschung also made significant ground on the opening lap, going from fifth to third in the opening corners.

When the time came to pit for a change of tyres, Pourchaire was right with Piastri and stayed out longer in an attempt to overcut. He exited the pits ahead but on cold tyres was passed by his rival.

With a couple of laps to go, Pourchaire’s task to overtake Piastri was looking too distant a task, and 1.8 seconds separated them at the finish.

Entering the closing stages, Jehan Daruvala was hunting third place from Boschung. The pressure ended up too much for Boschung, who locked up and allowed Daruvala and Robert Shwartzman to pass. Boschung eventually had to retire from the race after wearing through his front-left tyre.

Strong recovery drives from Shwartzman and Dan Ticktum ensured they took fourth and fifth, with Guanyu Zhou taking sixth on a difficult weekend.

The rest of the top 10 was completed by Liam Lawson, Richard Verschoor, Christian Lundgaard and David Beckmann. Juri Vips was forced to retire after slowing with an issue.

Bent Viscaal retired for a second consecutive race after a chaotic start down the order, which also caused Lirim Zendeli to take into the pits after contact from Roy Nissany that earned the DAMS driver a penalty.

Felipe Drugovich was declared unfit to start the race after his crash on the way to the race one grid, even though he was released following hospital checks.

Race results (28 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Oscar Piastri Prema 53m20.402s
2 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +1.928s
3 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +12.601s
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema +14.485s
5 Dan Ticktum Carlin +18.058s
6 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi +22.177s
7 Liam Lawson Hitech GP +30.596s
8 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +33.451s
9 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +37.775s
10 David Beckmann Campos Racing +39.118s
11 Marcus Armstrong DAMS +43.824s
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System +44.482s
13 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System +45.798s
14 Marino Sato Trident +51.902s
15 Roy Nissany DAMS +58.191s
16 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport +1m08.370s
17 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab +1m24.953s
18 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +1 lap
Ret Ralph Boschung Campos Racing Tyre
Ret Juri Vips Hitech GP Mechanical
Ret Bent Viscaal Trident Collision
WD Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi Declared unfit
Fastest lap: Lawson, 1m50.917s

Championship standings

1 Piastri 178   2 Zhou 142   3 Shwartzman 135   Ticktum 129   5 Vips 102   6 Pourchaire 120   Daruvala 96   8 Lawson 80   9 Drugovich 59   10 Verschoor 55