Home Formula 4French F4 Peugeot wins incident-filled second French F4 race at Valencia

Peugeot wins incident-filled second French F4 race at Valencia

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Roger Gascoigne

Enzo Peugeot claimed victory ahead of Jeronimo Berrio and Elliott Vayron in French Formula 4’s reversed-grid race at Valencia as Alessandro Giusti inherited the points lead.

Peugeot started from pole and led from the off, while Enzo Richer – who started alongside Peugeot – dropped immediately behind Berrio due to a slow getaway, and would lose another one position in favour of Vayron.

The safety car came out at the end of lap three as Mateo Villagomez was off-track at turn two.

Green flag action resumed with 14 minutes remaining on the clock. A poor restart from Romain Andriolo resulted in him dropping back from fifth to eighth place as he was overtaken by Souta Arao, Hugh Barter and Giusti.

An incident at turn six involving multiple cars then brought the safety car out again. Pierre-Alexandre Provost made contact with Edgar Pierre, and Enzo Geraci, who had slowed down in an attempt to avoid them, had Leny Reveillere running into the back of his car and over his rear wing. Provost, Geraci and Reveillere headed into the pitlane and retired at the end of the lap.

The track went green again with 10 minutes to go, but it would go yellow one more time as Antoine Fernand lost the control of his car and ended up beached in the gravel trap of turn 12.

The marshals picked up the car, and there was time left for three more laps.

Barter, who had previously passed Arao, fought Vayron for third place. However, it was Vayron who eventually stepped onto the podium as he held Barter off and attacked Berrio for second position on the last lap of the race.

Giusti, who had overtaken Richer in the last restart for sixth place, concluded the race in fifth as he also passed Arao, who dropped from fifth to seventh in the last lap.

As Barter is ineligible for points for this weekend having already raced at Valencia this year, it means Giusti took the points for fourth place and therefore overtakes Barter at the top of the championship standings.

Race result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Enzo Peugeot 22m30.062s
2 Jeronimo Berrio +1.031s
3 Elliott Vayron +1.458s
4 Hugh Barter +1.704s
5 Alessandro Giusti +3.545s
6 Yuto Nomura +3.817s
7 Souta Arao +4.802s
8 Romain Andriolo +5.590s
9 Dario Cabanelas +6.926s
10 Enzo Richer +7.766s
11 Lorens Lecertua +7.926s
12 Pablo Sarrazin +8.943s
13 Valentino Mini +9.749s
14 Max Reis +10.129s
15 Pol Lopez +11.406s
16 Edgar Pierre +11.997s
Ret Louis Pelet
Ret Antoine Fernande
Ret Enzo Geraci
Ret Pierre-Alexandre Provost
Ret Leny Reveillere
Ret Mateo Villagomez
Fastest lap: Peugeot, 1m36.079s

Championship standings
Giusti 225   2 Barter 218   Arao 183   4 Vayron 176   5 Peugeot 115   6 Nomura 81   7 Berrio 80   8 Cabanelas 73   9 Provost 68   10 Andriolo 49