Home Formula 4Italian F4 Petecof survives contact with Prema team-mate Aron to win wet Misano opener

Petecof survives contact with Prema team-mate Aron to win wet Misano opener

by Peter Allen

Gianluca Petecof

Ferrari junior Gianluca Petecof survived contact with rookie Prema team-mate Paul Aron to win a wet first Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Misano.

Petecof and Aron split the honours during the two qualifying sessions on Saturday morning, with the former starting from the front in race one, which began behind the safety car due to the conditions.

Once racing began, Petecof was able to build a gap of nearly a second over Aron, but the European junior karting champion suddenly took half a second out of that lead around the half-way point.

With 10 minutes to go, Aron dived inside Petecof at Turn 8 and the pair made contact, with Aron sustaining damage to his front wing and running wide.

Petecof continued to lead while Aron rejoined in fourth behind the Van Amersfoort Racing duo of Dennis Hauger and Niklas Krutten, who tracked the Prema pair throughout the early stages.

Hauger then kept the pressure on Petecof until the end, with 0.943s separating them at the flag.

Krutten was a further second back in third, with Aron finishing a distant fourth with his damage.

Oliver Rasmussen lost a couple of places early on after starting fourth, but gained fifth before the end away from Prema team-mate Alessandro Famularo, who has coach Juan Pablo Montoya on hand this weekend.

Famularo also lost out to Mucke Motorsport’s William Alatalo before the end.

Ido Cohen, Mikhail Belov and Roee Meyuhas completed the top 10.

After starting 11th, Joshua Durksen had got himself into 10th position past Lucas Alecco Roy when he was hit into a spin by the VAR driver, who was passed by Meyuhas and then received a 10-second penalty.

Despite finishing 11th, Durksen remains second in the standings, with 40 points to Petecof’s 83.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Gianluca Petecof Prema Powerteam 32m51.313s
2 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing +0.943s
3 Niklas Krutten Van Amersfoort Racing +1.998s
4 Paul Aron Prema Powerteam +5.173s
5 Oliver Rasmussen Prema Powerteam +7.794s
6 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +8.714s
7 Alessandro Famularo Prema Powerteam +15.697s
8 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +18.933s
9 Mikhael Belov Bhaitech +19.072s
10 Roee Meyuhas Cram Motorsport +20.602s
11 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +30.670s
12 Umberto Laganella Bhaitech +34.016s
13 Francesco Simonazzi Cram Motorsport +34.982s
14 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +40.304s
15 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +44.666s
16 Filip Ugran BVM Racing +46.859s
17 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +47.856s
18 Ivan Berets DRZ Benelli +50.775s
19 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +52.288s
20 Jesse Salmenautio DRZ Benelli +52.429s
21 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +52.806s
22 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +1m01.095s
23 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +1m02.478s
24 Axel Gnos Jenzer Motorsport +1m05.117s
25 Andrea Rosso Antonelli Motorsport +1m09.376s
26 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +1m10.318s
27 Emidio Pesce Jenzer Motorsport +1m25.195s
28 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +1m27.309s
29 Lorenzo Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +1m28.365s
30 Erwin Zanotti Mucke Motorsport +6 laps
Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +9 laps
Fastest lap: Alatalo, 1m46.770s

Championship standings
?Petecof 85? ?2 Durksen 40? ?3 Belov 35? ?4 Stanek 32? ?5?Rasmussen 24? ?6 Cohen 22? ?7?Aron 22? ?8?Famularo 21? ?9 Alatalo 20? ?10?Hauger 19