Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Parsons wins again at Sepang as leaders collide

Parsons wins again at Sepang as leaders collide

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: Formula Masters China Series

Photo: Formula Masters China Series

Meritus GP driver Jake Parsons capitalised on a first lap incident to take his second win in the first round of the 2015 Formula Masters China Series season at Sepang.

The race began with Asuka Muratomi on pole ahead of Martin Rump, but the pair tangled going into turn one. Muratomi retired on lap five, while Rump continued, crawling around to finish tenth. The KCMG driver was fined for the incident and slapped with a five-place grid penalty for the next race.

Parsons was unaffected by the melee and snuck through. He then cruised to victory, seven seconds ahead of teammate Daniel Woodroof.

The Malaysian managed to get past Eurasia’s Aidan Read on the penultimate lap, demoting the Aussie to third.

Sean Hudspeth held off Matthew Swanepoel for fourth, while series debutant Nick Rowe secured his best finish in sixth. Behind them, Yuan Bo passed Tomoki Takahashi right at the end for seventh.

Kim Jeong Tae was ninth, with Rump completing the top ten.

After the first round, Parsons leads the standings on 48 points, ahead of Rump on 32, while the consistent Read is just two points behind the Estonian.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Parsons Meritus GP 10 laps in 21:53.032
2 Daniel Woodroof Meritus GP +7.161
3 Aidan Read Eurasia Motorsport +9.130
4 Sean Hudspeth Eurasia Motorsport +16.870
5 Matthew Swanepoel Arrows Racing +17.129
6 Nick Rowe KCMG +18.211
7 Yuan Bo Meritus GP +21.420
8 Tomoki Takahashi Super License +21.612
9 Kim Jeong Tae Eurasia Motorsport +30.620
10 Martin Rump KCMG +33.159
11 Hua Miao Eurasia Motorsport +33.287
12 Takashi Hata Super License +38.027
13 Jeffrey Ye KCMG +45.688
14 Worawong Komarakul Meritus GP +51.563
15 Zheng Shangguan KCMG +1:39.649
Not classified
Asuka Muratomi Eurasia Motorsport +5 laps
DNS Takeru Muratomi Eurasia Motorsport