Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Panis leads ART 1-2-3 in final Hockenheim race

Panis leads ART 1-2-3 in final Hockenheim race

by Gruz David
Aurelien Panis

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Aurelien Panis emerged victorious in the third race of the Hockenheim weekend in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC.

Panis started from pole thanks to the reverse grid system based on race one results, and took advantage of drivers battling for positions behind him, which cost them valuable time.

After an eventful first two laps, which saw four drivers retiring, Levin Amweg and Callan O’Keeffe ended up in second and third. Later on these drivers traded positions to complete an ART Junior Team lock-out on the podium.

Winner of race one, Gustav Malja and Japanese driver Ukyo Sasahara secured fourth and fifth respectively, while Ben Barnicoat defended well on the last couple of laps to keep sixth from Steijn Schothorst and Louis Deletraz.

Starting from 21st, Seb Morris?showed an impressive performance?to fight his way up to ninth with Jake Hughes completing the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 15 laps in 25:04.487
2 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +1.977
3 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +4.477
4 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +10.099
5 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova +16.571
6 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +19.712
7 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +20.254
8 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +20.799
9 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +22.240
10 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport +22.914
11 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +25.715
12 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +26.175
13 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +32.227
14 Leopold Ringbom PositiOne Motorsport +33.414
15 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsports +41.725
16 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +46.382
17 Philippe Morin Manor MP Motorsport +48.362
18 Robert Siska Inter Europol +1:17.145
19 Matthew Graham AVF +1:27.305
20 Salvatore Deplano Euronova +1 lap
Not classified
Harri Salminen PositiOne Motorsport +9 laps
Stefan Riener MGR Motorsport +14 laps
Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +14 laps
Josef Zaruba AVF +15 laps
Roy Geerts AVF +15 laps