Home Formula 3GB3 Palmer wins again as HHC lock out the podium

Palmer wins again as HHC lock out the podium

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: BRDC F4

Photo: BRDC F4

17-year-old William Palmer was at the head of a 1-2-3 finish for HHC Motorsport, picking up his second victory of the BRDC F4 event at Snetterton.

Palmer, who got pole due to setting the fastest lap in the first race, managed a solid start and maintained the lead throughout the entirety of the race distance.

Front row starter Raoul Hyman fell behind Sennan Fielding and race two winner Arjun Maini over the opening lap, which preceded the second safety car period of the weekend. This time, it was SWR’s Diego Borrelli who brought out the yellows.

The race went back to green at the end of lap three and Palmer held on to the lead after the restart. He quickly established a one-second lead over his teammate Fielding and maintained it for the six remaining laps to take the checkered flag in first.

Fielding finished second, while Hyman overtook Maini shortly after the restart to ensure a podium lockout for the HHC team.

The Indian had to settle for fourth, with Gaetano Di Mauro picking up his personal best finish in fifth despite race-long pressure from points leader George Russell.

Russell’s teammate Struan Moore was one spot behind in seventh, while Diego Menchaca, Charlie Eastwood and Gustavo Lima making up the rest of the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Will Palmer HHC Motorsport 10 laps in 21:41.319
2 Sennan Fielding HHC Motorsport +0.689
3 Raoul Hyman HHC Motorsport +1.995
4 Arjun Maini Lanan Racing +2.727
5 Gaetano Di Mauro PetroBall +8.260
6 George Russell Lanan Racing +8.341
7 Struan Moore Lanan Racing +8.718
8 Diego Menchaca Douglas Motorsport +11.438
9 Charlie Eastwood Douglas Motorsport +11.790
10 Gustavo Lima Hillspeed +13.413
11 David Wagner Mark Godwin Racing +18.100
12 Rahul Raj Mayer Hillspeed +21.012
13 Tom Jackson Chris Dittmann Racing +21.652
14 Rodrigo Fonseca Douglas Motorsport +22.373
15 Chris Middlehurst Mark Godwin Racing +23.008
16 Jordan Albert Sean Walkinshaw Racing +25.994
17 Dan Roeper PetroBall +27.196
18 Michael Claessens Mark Godwin Racing +36.275
19 Nicolas Beer Sean Walkinshaw Racing +52.338
Not classified
Diego Borrelli Sean Walkinshaw Racing +10 laps