Home Formula 2 Palmer overhauls Nasr to secure Singapore win

Palmer overhauls Nasr to secure Singapore win

by Peter Allen
Jolyon Palmer

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service

Jolyon Palmer fought back from a poor start to beat Carlin team-mate Felipe Nasr to the feature race victory in Singapore.

Palmer got a bad launch from pole position as Nasr surged into the lead, with the Briton initially slipping to fourth before finding his way back past James Calado and Fabio Leimer.

Nasr had a lead of 13 seconds after he and Palmer had made their pitstops but the Brazilian struggled with his tyre wear in the closing stages as Palmer reduced the gap at more than 1.5 seconds a lap.

Palmer was on Nasr’s tail with four laps to go and Nasr was powerless to prevent his team-mate coming past and denying him his long-awaited maiden GP2 win. Palmer opened up a 13 second gap over the remaining laps before the chequered flag.

Calado overhauled Leimer for third by running longer into the race before changing his tyres. The Swiss driver was back on Calado’s tail late on but was unable to get past and found himself overtaken by Stephane Richelmi before the finish.

Tom Dillmann passed Marcus Ericsson towards the end to take sixth while Sam Bird did his title hopes the world of good by claiming the reverse grid pole position in eighth. After starting tenth he lost places off the start but was able to recover and pass Dani Clos for eighth before the end. Jon Lancaster also passed Clos for ninth.

Leimer has extended his lead over Bird to 12 points but will start fourth on the grid for Sunday’s sprint race.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jolyon Palmer Carlin 28 laps in 57:14.130
2 Felipe Nasr Carlin +13.095
3 James Calado ART Grand Prix +25.126
4 Stephane Richelmi DAMS +25.713
5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering +28.296
6 Tom Dillmann Russian Time +38.577
7 Marcus Ericsson DAMS +45.448
8 Sam Bird Russian Time +45.685
9 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport +51.981
10 Dani Clos MP Motorsport +56.906
11 Mitch Evans Arden International +57.227
12 Stefano Coletti Rapax +1:04.741
13 Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix +1:05.265
14 Johnny Cecotto Arden International +1:19.683
15 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team +1:33.492
16 Simon Trummer Rapax +1:43.894
17 Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport +1:52.806
18 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus +1:53.422
19 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing +2:06.253
20 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team +1 lap
21 Gianmarco Raimondo Trident Racing +1 lap
22 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport +1 lap
Not classified
Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 23 laps
Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus 9 laps
Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing 7 laps
Julian Leal Racing Engineering 7 laps