Home Featured PaddockScout Awards 2014: Championship of the Year

PaddockScout Awards 2014: Championship of the Year

by Formula Scout


Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0

2013 was one of the best years in the history of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 series – so much so that we unanimously agreed on handing it our ‘Best Championship’ award. And, retroactively, the sheer quality of that grid was proven – title rivals Pierre Gasly and Oliver Rowland were superb in Formula Renault 3.5, while third-placed Esteban Ocon became the FIA F3 European champion and overnight turned into one of the biggest names around.

The Eurocup proved its relevance and raising its profile was the next goal – an integral step towards that was made with newly-secured British television coverage, which allowed the masses easy access to the action-packed world of FR2.0 racing.

The season itself had some big shoes to fill and started in a typical Eurocup way, with six different winners in the first six races. However, pre-season title favourite Nyck de Vries, who decided to return after a disappointing sophomore season, stood on the podium on almost every occasion and stifled the intrigue, eventually finishing the season with more than 100 points on anyone else.

While de Vries was definitely the class of the field, the rest were by no means bad, even by Eurocup’s notoriously high standards. Norwegian Dennis Olsen was top best rookie of the series, despite being in his only second year of racing. And competition was fierce for every spot in the standings but first, with numerous drivers taking turns to shine in the limelight.

The Eurocup also continued to be quite accomodating to guest drivers. BRDC Mclaren Autosport Award winner George Russell won the season finale, while Charles Leclerc took second three times in a row – both were in their first year of car racing.

The sheer amount of cars and the high concentration of talent on the grid made for good racing as usual, even if the champion’s dominance meant it didn’t quite match the drama of 2013.

Overall, the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 retained its status as one of the most popular, affordable, accessible and entertaining series of the junior single-seater scene.

David Gruz

Next: Nominee 5