Home Featured O’Sullivan resists Bortoleto at Red Bull Ring for first F3 feature race win

O’Sullivan resists Bortoleto at Red Bull Ring for first F3 feature race win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Prema

Zak O’Sullivan held off Gabriel Bortoleto to take his first Formula 3 feature race win at the Red Bull Ring. 

The Williams junior led a four-car battle in the race’s closing stages, with Bortoleto, Franco Colapinto and Sebastian Montoya close behind.

Colapinto and Montoya made contact, and Bortoleto looked for any way past O’Sullivan. But the Prema driver didn’t put a wheel wrong and came home ahead to secure his third win of the season. 

Throughout the race, nobody who led had much breathing room at the front. On lap one, Gregorie Saucy had managed to break the gap to second, only for the safety car to be brought out when Gabriel Mini was sent throguh the gravel following contact with Hitech GP team-mate Luke Browning. 

Dino Beganovic and Bortoleto stayed with Saucy on the restart, with Beganovic taking the lead not long after. Paul Aron made it a four-car fight while O’Sullivan was a little way further back in fifth. 

Aron came through to third and attempted a late dive up the inside of Saucy, making contact with him and dropping them both out of the fight. 

O’Sullivan was now up to third and quickly closed the gap to the battling Beganovic and Bortoleto. Beganovic was struggling with tyre wear and didn’t have the pace to hold off chasing drivers. Later, a move up the inside of Bortoleto earned O’Sullivan the lead.

Montoya and Colapinto had also been working their way up through the order. As Beganovic slipped further back, the lead fight became a battle between O’Sullivan, Bortoleto, Colapinto and Montoya. 

There was plenty of side-by-side action in the closing stages. O’Sullivan managed to hold off Bortoleto, while Montoya and Colapinto made slight contact as the former tried to get past. Montoya was sent through the gravel and plummetting down the order, while Colapinto slipped back to fourth, behind Caio Collet. 

Beganovic managed to hold onto fifth ahead of Jonny Edgar and the Campos Racing duo of Christian Mansell and Hugh Barter. 

At one point, Kaylen Frederick had been leading the fight for seventh, with Mansell, Mari Boya and Pepi Marti close behind. Contact between Frederick and Boya damaged Frederick’s front wing and gave Boya a puncture. A lock-up then took Marti out of the fight. 

Sophia Florsch benefited as she came through to finish ninth, her first points finish of the season, ahead of Montoya, who rejoined the track in 10th.

Race result (26 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 37m59.535s
2 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +0.844s
3 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing +1.696s
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +2.458s
5 Dino Beganovic Prema +4.460s
6 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport +4.723s
7 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +5.296s
8 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +5.676s
9 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +6.230s
10 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP +8.814s
11 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +9.530s
12 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +10.624s
13 Oliver Goethe Trident +12.441s
14 Hunter Yeany Carlin +13.510s
15 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +13.883s
16 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +14.601s
17 Ollie Gray Carlin +15.148s
18 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +15.803s
19 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +16.236s
20 McKenzy Cresswell PHM by Charouz +16.584s
21 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +16.921s
22 Roberto Faria Van Amersfoort Racing +17.355s
23 Luke Browning Hitech GP +38.170s
24 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +53.151s
25 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +53.750s
26 Paul Aron Prema +1m06.265s
27 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix +1m07.566s
28 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +2 laps
Ret Ido Cohen Carlin
Ret Gabriele Mini Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Beganovic, 1m22.774s

Championship standings
Bortoleto 111   2 Beganovic 75   3 O’Sullivan 73   4 Marti 73   5 Mini 65   6 Aron 65   7 Colapinto 60   8 Saucy 49   9 Browning 38   10 Fornaroli 36