Home Featured Oscar Piastri dominates FIA F3 opener, Alex Peroni P3 on comeback

Oscar Piastri dominates FIA F3 opener, Alex Peroni P3 on comeback

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Getty Images

Reigning Formula Renault Eurocup champion Oscar Piastri took a commanding race win in the season-opening FIA Formula 3 race at the Red Bull Ring.

The run down to Turn 1 on the opening lap proved critical to the outcome of the race as ART Grand Prix’s poleman Sebastian Fernandez went three-wide with Trident’s Lirim Zendeli and Prema’s Piastri.

Fernandez came off worst as he spun off the track and later retired, while Piastri took the lead from third on the grid and Zendeli slotted into second place.

Piastri crucially built an early lead and avoided enabling DRS usage for Zendeli, who had his mirrors swamped with Piastri’s team-mates and Campos Racing’s Alex Peroni.

On lap five of 24, Prema’s Logan Sargeant passed Zendeli at Turn 4 but ran wide on the corner’s exit and had to repeat the overtake on the next lap.  Zendeli lost two positions in one corner as Peroni followed Sargeant through and claimed third.

Piastri remained untroubled up front to win on his FIA F3 debut, while Sargeant and Peroni took their first series podiums in second and third. It was Peroni’s first race since his back-breaking crash at Monza last year.

Frederik Vesti ensured three Prema drivers finished inside the top four, while Zendeli settled for fifth place.

Hitech GP’s Liam Lawson charged from 12th on the grid to finish in sixth place, with Trident’s David Beckmann starting and finishing in seventh.

Macau Grand Prix winner Richard Verschoor was eighth for MP Motorsport, with ART’s Alexander Smolyar and BRDC British F3 champion Clement Novalak (Carlin) rounding out the points. The new 2020 rules means Novalak will start the reversed grid race two from pole.

On his FIA F3 debut, Charouz Racing System’s Igor Fraga charged from last on the grid to finish in 16th place, but was under investigation, one place ahead of fellow debutant and team-mate Roman Stanek.

HWA Racelab’s Jake Hughes qualified well but a technical issue meant he started the race late and finished 28th.


Race results (24 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Oscar Piastri Prema 32m53.331s
2 Logan Sargeant Prema +1.600s
3 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +3.000s
4 Frederik Vesti Prema +4.002s
5 Lirim Zendeli Trident +7.496s
6 Liam Lawson Hitech GP +10.818s
7 David Beckmann Trident +12.862s
8 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +13.800s
9 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +14.194s
10 Clement Novalak Carlin +14.558s
11 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport +15.477s
12 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP +22.398s
13 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +22.921s
14 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab +25.218s
15 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +26.634s
16 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System +27.131s
17 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System +27.587s
18 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +27.874s
19 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +29.229s
20 Olli Caldwell Trident +29.599s
21 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +29.930s
22 Cameron Das Carlin +30.365s
23 Enaam Ahmed Carlin +30.868s
24 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +31.123s
25 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System +35.204s
26 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing +35.838s
27 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +36.354s
28 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +37.545s
29 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +1 lap
Ret Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix
Fastest lap: Peroni, 1m21.602s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 25   2 Sargeant 18   3 Peroni 17   4 Vesti 12   5 Zendeli 10   6 Lawson 8   7 Beckmann 6   8 Verschoor 4   9 Fernandez 4   10 Smolyar 2