Home News Oliver Askew returns to USF2000 victory lane at Iowa Speedway

Oliver Askew returns to USF2000 victory lane at Iowa Speedway

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

After two races of disappointment at Road America, Oliver Askew set the record straight again at Iowa Speedway with his sixth win of the USF2000 season.

At the rolling start Askew immediately put himself several car lengths ahead, and for the duration of the 60 lap race he was unsighted by his rivals.

Pabst Racing duo Rinus VeeKay and Calvin Ming finished second and third behind Cape Motorsport driver Askew, with ArmsUp Motorsport driver Alex Baron claiming fourth.

Baron provided much of the race?s action in the first half after he fell from fourth to eighth at the start, and had to fight his way back up the order.

As the tyres degraded the race became far more eventful, and for the final 20 laps there was a dicey three-way battle for fifth place between Robert Megennis, Kaylen Frederick and Lucas Kohl.

That was decided in Team Pelfrey Megennis?s favour, with Ayla Agren, Devin Wojcik and Moises de la Vara completing the top 10.

Despite a field comprising of several speedway rookies, there were no caution periods in the race or cases of contact between drivers.

Mazda Iowa 60 Results (60 laps)
1 Oliver Askew Cape Motorsports 24m48.497s
2 Rinus VeeKay Pabst Racing +3.8245s
3 Calvin Ming Pabst Racing +6.1338s
4 Alex Baron ArmsUp Motorsport +6.4571s
5 Robert Megennis Team Pelfrey +12.1066s
6 Kaylen Frederick Team Pelfrey +12.2035s
7 Lucas Kohl Pabst Racing +12.6254s
8 Ayla Agren Team Pelfrey +21.8830s
9 Devin Wojcik ArmsUp Motorsport +22.5290s
10 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing +1 lap
11 Kory Enders DEForce Racing +2 laps
12 Parker Thompson Exclusive Autosport +3 laps
13 Dev Gore Exclusive Autosport +4 laps
Fastest Lap: Askew, 24.441s (131.683mph)