Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Ocon triumphs in race one at Hockenheim

Ocon triumphs in race one at Hockenheim

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Lotus F1 junior driver Esteban Ocon reaped the spoils of war in race one of the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC season at Hockenheim, taking a race victory after the leading duo of Matt Parry and Jake Dennis hit trouble.

Ocon started the race in third behind Parry and Dennis and wasn’t looking to particularly trouble them when an accident between the two demoted Parry to third and put reigning champion Dennis out of the points.

As such, Mikko Pakari picked up second while Oliver Rowland managed to pass Parry for third with a few laps to go. The Caterham junior’s car was clearly damaged but, due to a safety car brought out by Miika Laiho, he managed to make it to the end without losing any more positions.

Another Intersteps graduate, Jack Aitken, was fifth, ahead of Andrea Pizzitola and Shahaan Engineer. Teammates Steijn Schothorst and Gustav Malja were eighth and ninth ahead of Victor Sendin.

Dennis Olsen picked up some decent points in 11th, despite losing a few spots. Kuba Dalewski, Raoul Owens and Ed Jones followed, while Yu Kanamaru rounded out the top 15. The rest of the points were picked up by Erik Johansson, Roman Beregech, Aurelien Panis, Javier Merlo and Jakub Smiechowski.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team 14 laps in 25:41.882
2 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports +0.172
3 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport +0.764
4 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +2.169
5 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +2.277
6 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +2.772
7 Shahaan Engineer Fortec Motorsports +2.933
8 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.171
9 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.585
10 Victor Sendin AV Formula +4.323
11 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.469
12 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +5.338
13 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +5.910
14 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports +6.162
15 Yu Kanamaru KTR +7.106
16 Erik Johansson KEO Racing +7.815
17 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +8.016
18 Aurelien Panis RC Formula +8.357
19 Javier Merlo Manor MP Motorsport +8.861
20 Jakub Smiechowski EuroInterpol +9.798
21 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +10.148
22 Patric Armand Fortec Motorsports +11.498
23 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +12.411
24 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports +13.095
25 Louis Del?traz Josef Kaufmann Racing +13.390
26 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +13.907
27 Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing +15.581
28 Simon Stoller SL Formula +16.631
29 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +17.478
30 Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition +18.282
31 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +1 lap
32 Alexander Albon KTR +1 lap
33 Miika Laiho PositiOne Motorsport +4 laps
Not classified
Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +7 laps
Roman Mavlanov RC Formula +13 laps
Ignazio D’Agosto KTR +14 laps
Fran Rueda AV Formula +14 laps
Alex Baron ART Junior Team +14 laps