Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania NZ Formula Ford champion Conroy joins Toyota Racing Series

NZ Formula Ford champion Conroy joins Toyota Racing Series

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Kiwi racer Jamie Conroy will contest the 2015 Toyota Racing Series championship, the series has announced.

Conroy put himself on the map by winning the 2013-14 New Zealand Formula Ford championship in dominant fashion as he took the checkered flag first in 16 races out of 18.

The Invercargill racer then also secured the South Island Formula Ford title.

Toyota Racing Series is the premiere category of racing cars in New Zealand, it has been for a while now and, with their new-spec car this season, it will continue to be for a while yet”, said Conroy. “It’s the most logical stepping stone for me from Formula Ford.

I’ll be running with M2 Competition,” he confirmed to PaddockScout. “They have run drivers such as Nick Cassidy and Alex Lynn in recent years so I know I’m in with a credible bunch of guys that I can rely on to give me a quick car.

M2 Competition led this year’s Macau Grand Prix podium finisher Nick Cassidy to the title in the 2013 edition of the series.

In 2014, the team claimed four race wins, courtesy of Formula Renault 2.0 racers Egor Orudzhev and Steijn Schothorst.

Conroy, who has oil company Mobil 1 among his sponsors, follows in the footsteps of 2012-13 NZ FFord champion James Munro, who became a race winner in his rookie TRS campaign in 2014.

“Obviously I want to win the series, and everything I have done and will do from now onwards is aimed at that,” stated Conroy. “However, it is a huge step up from Formula Ford, so I’m going to just focus on doing what I do, controlling what I can control.