Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Nyck de Vries secures another pole in Eurocup

Nyck de Vries secures another pole in Eurocup

by Ant Musker
Nyck de Vries

Photo: Gregory Lenormand/DPPI

McLaren development driver Nyck de Vries has taken his second pole position of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season for the opening race at Spa Francorchamps.

The 19-year-old set the fastest time in Group A and will start from the front as he has done four times in six races in the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS category.

The Dutchman will be joined on the front row of the grid by Josef Kaufmann Racing?s Kevin Jorg, who set the pace in the Group B qualifying session. Prema Powerteam rookie Dennis Olsen will start from third on the grid alongside ART Junior Callan O?Keeffe, who will be looking for some good luck after his two retirements in Aragon.

Pacesetters in yesterday?s free practice sessions Levin Amweg and Alexander Albon make up the third row with Tech 1?s Egor Orudzhev and Prema?s Bruno Bonifacio starting in seventh and eighth.

Race winner from weekend one, Andrea Pizzitola of Manor MP starts from ninth while his fellow Frenchman, Aurelien Panis of ART Junior rounds off the top ten.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 2:17.058
2 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:17.222
3 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 2:17.589
4 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 2:17.347
5 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 2:17.601
6 Alexander Albon KTR 2:17.358
7 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 2:17.625
8 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 2:17.430
9 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport 2:17.667
10 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 2:17.485
11 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP 2:17.855
12 Louis Deletraz AVF 2:17.715
13 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 2:18.006
14 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:17.723
15 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 2:18.057
16 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 2:17.778
17 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 2:18.253
18 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 2:17.799
19 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 2:18.271
20 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP 2:17.817
21 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 2:18.405
22 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport 2:17.822
23 Matthew Graham AVF 2:18.628
24 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 2:17.942
25 Denis Korneev JD Motorsport 2:18.826
26 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 2:18.117
27 Gregor Ramsay KTR 2:18.848
28 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport 2:18.277
29 Josef Zaruba AVF 2:18.880
30 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 2:18.382
31 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing 2:18.983
32 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:18.666
33 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport 2:19.165
34 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing 2:18.759
35 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport 2:19.405
36 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam 2:19.103
37 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 2:19.543
38 Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing 2:19.605
39 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports 2:19.851
40 James Allen ARTA Engineering 2:19.851