Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Nyck de Vries dominates opening race of Alps season

Nyck de Vries dominates opening race of Alps season

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Koiranen GP’s Nyck de Vries took his first victory in Formula Renault Alps with a dominant lights-to-flag drive in the opening race of the 2014 season at Imola.

De Vries was unfazed by a lengthy safety car period early on and confidently increased his lead lap-by-lap after the restart, taking the checkered flag way ahead of the opposition.

What unfolded behind him was a rather hectic race, which saw a number of drivers in contention for the remaining podium positions.

As de Vries and fellow front row starter Bruno Bonifacio led the field into turn one off the line, there were a number of incidents down the order and, with numerous cars stuck in the gravel, the safety car was soon called out. The field would not return to green flag racing for more than ten minutes, as clean-up work took up almost half of the race length.

At the restart, de Vries and Bonifacio comfortably assumed their respective places at the front, while Fortec’s Jack Aitken held off teammate Seb Morris and ARTA’s Simon Gachet. Shortly thereafter, Aitken had a brief moment and lost a number of positions, while, soon, the same would happen to Morris, who dropped to the outskirts of the top ten.

While de Vries cruised to the finish in first, his Prema rival Bonifacio hit trouble on the final lap, losing five seconds and nearly letting Gachet through into second. The Brazilian held on, while the ARTA driver had to settle for third, picking up his first podium in Formula Renault racing.

Aitken took fourth, while Dennis Olsen narrowly held on to fifth, finishing half a second ahead of car racing debutant George Russell.

Hans Villemi started the race in third and held position on the opening lap, but would fall down the order shortly before the safety car. The Estonian managed to recover to seventh after the restart, with teammate Andrew Tang finishing close behind in eighth.

Reigning Formula Renault NEC champion Matt Parry and French F4 title holder Anthoine Hubert rounded out the top ten.

De Vries will start tomorrow’s race from pole, with Bonifacio again joining him on the front row.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 14 laps in 28:02.63
2 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +10.372
3 Simon Gachet Arta Engineering +10.958
4 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +11.555
5 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam +13.043
6 George Russell Koiranen GP +13.531
7 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam +14.740
8 Andrew Tang Prema Powerteam +15.118
9 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +17.692
10 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing +19.409
11 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport +23.613
12 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +24.150
13 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +30.316
14 Alex Bosak Prema Powerteam +30.998
15 Dennis Anoschin Jenzer Motorsport +31.315
16 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +33.360
17 Akash Nandy Tech 1 Racing +34.072
18 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing +34.631
19 Hong Li Ye Koiranen GP +35.828
20 James Allen Arta Engineering +39.216
21 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing +41.138
22 Matteo Gonfiantini TS Corse +42.691
23 Thiago Vivacqua Fortec Motorsports +43.168
24 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing +56.828
25 Kang Ling Koiranen GP +1:07.235
26 Mikhail Tarasov Koiranen GP +1:30.686
27 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +1:40.071
Not classified
Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport +3 laps
Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +4 laps
Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports +4 laps
Nick Cassidy China BRT by JCS Team +5 laps
Vitaly Larionov Koiranen GP +6 laps
Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +8 laps
Semen Evstigneev BVM Racing +8 laps
Danyil Pronenko AS Motorsport Olimpija +13 laps
Yuan Bo Jenzer Motorsport +14 laps
Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports +14 laps
Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +14 laps
Matteo Cairoli GSK Grand Prix +14 laps