Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Nolan Siegel claims his first Indy Nxt pole in St. Petersburg

Nolan Siegel claims his first Indy Nxt pole in St. Petersburg

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: James Black

Nolan Siegel topped qualifying for the first round of the Indy Nxt season in St. Petersburg.

New for this season, qualifying was split into two groups. Siegel opted for the first group, while practice pacesetter Louis Foster ran in group two.

Siegel was fastest at the start of Q1 ahead of Caio Collet and Myles Rowe. Rowe briefly took first place before Siegel improved to 1m04.5759s to return to the top.

Collet was unable to answer to that pace, as contact with the wall left him with a damaged car. He managed to get back to the pits, leaving the track green for the rest of the field. 

Rowe took second in the group ahead of last-minute grid adition Michael d’Orlando, who went down the run-off at turn 10 during one of his late runs. Josh Pierson wa fourth fatsest, knocking Collet down to the fifth row of the grid. 

The session ended with Siegel on provisional pole, but with the possibility of being knocked down to second if the second qualifying group was faster. 

Foster set the pace ahead of Jacob Abel at first in that group, only for Abel to jump to the top with a 1m04.5825s, less than a hundreth of a second slower than Siegel’s benchmark. 

Abel could not improve before an incident for Josh Mason brought out red flags. Mason had come to a stop sideways across the track in the closing stages of qualifying.

Running resumed with a minute-and-a-half left on the clock. Foster managed to improve his pace, but failed to beat Abel. Before the field could complete their final runs, Callum Hedge hit the barriers and red flags appeared again that ended the session. 

The result meant Abel will start on the front row of the grid, alongside Siegel, with Rowe third ahead of Foster. 

Reece Gold was third quickest in the second session, putting him sixth on the grid. Fourth and fifth place in group two for Bryce Aron and Jamie Chadwick places them eighth and 10th on the grid respectively. 

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Group 1 Group 2 Laps
1 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports 1m04.5759s 11
2 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m04.5825s 10
3 Myles Rowe HMD Motorsports 1m04.5985s 11
4 Louis Foster Andretti Global 1m04.6027s 10
5 Michael d’Orlando Andretti Cape 1m04.7224s 8
6 Reece Gold HMD Motorsports 1m04.7922s 9
7 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports 1m04.8715s 11
8 Bryce Aron Andretti Global 1m04.8883s 9
9 Caio Collet HMD Motorsports 1m04.8855s 8
10 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Global 1m05.9225s 10
11 Jonathan Browne HMD Motorports 1m05.0445s 11
12 Christian Bogle HMD Motorports 1m05.2313s 9
13 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Abel Motorsports 1m05.0898s 11
14 James Roe Jr Andretti Global 1m05.2440s 10
15 Salvador de Alba Andretti Cape 1m05.0966s 11
16 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m05.4054s 9
17 Nolan Allaer HMD Motorsports 1m05.6638s 11
18 Callum Hedge HMD Motorsports 1m05.9366s 8
19 Niels Koolen HMD Motorsports 1m06.1214s 11
20 Josh Mason Abel Motorports 1m07.1084s 5
21 Lindsay Brewer Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m07.3566s 9