Home Formula 4NACAM F4 Noel Leon wins NACAM F4 title at Monterrey

Noel Leon wins NACAM F4 title at Monterrey

by Ida Wood

Ram Racing’s Noel Leon became the 2019-20 NACAM Formula 4 champion in the Monterrey season finale.

The short chicane-filled lap meant laptimes were close in qualifying, and Leon claimed pole by just 0.048 seconds over RPL Racing’s 14-year-old Andres Perez de Lara, with another 0.003s to Leon’s title rival Nico Christodoulou.

In the opening race it was Christodoulou who made it to the front for Scuderia Martiga, an official junior team of USF2000 squad DEForce Racing, and a 0.633s victory over Leon kept the title battle going into the second race.

Jose Garfias Martinez broke away early in race two to claim his third win of the year, with Christodoulou unable to keep up after spending any laps trying to keep Leon behind him. By finishing second, and with Leon in third, it was enough for Leon to br crowned the season champion.

With the pressure off, Leon romped to victory from pole in the season-ending race, ahead of Jorge Garciarce and Christodoulou.

Results round-up
Race 1 (22 laps)
1 Nico Christodoulou Scuderia Martiga 26m40.618s
2 Noel Leon Ram Racing +0.633s
3 Andres Perez de Lara RPL Racing +6.047s
4 Jose Garfias Martinez RPL Racing +6.857s
5 Daniel Escoto FF&R IBC Group +27.697s
6 Thomas Nepveu RPL Racing +34.961s
7 Jose Andres Martinez Scuderia Martiga +52.014s
8 David Morales Euromotor Sport +1m00.309s
9 Alejandro Berumen Ram Racing +4 laps
NC Jorge Garciarce Sidral Aga +10 laps
Pole: Leon, 1m11.203s
Fastest lap: Christodoulou, 1m11.644s

Race 2 (22 laps)
1 Garfias Martinez 26m37.368s
2 Christodoulou +2.456s
3 Leon +3.638s
4 Gil Molina MEA Racing +9.059s
5 Garciarce +19.049
6 Berumen +20.201s
7 Perez de Lara +20.610s
8 Morales +38.351s
9 Andres Martinez +38.929s
Ret Nepveu
FL: Garciarce, 1m11.625s

Race 3 (21 laps)
1 Leon 46m04.915s
2 Garciarce +3.934s
3 Christodoulou +4.780s
4 Garfias Martinez +5.221s
5 Perez de Lara +11.363s
6 Escoto +11.791s
Ret Berumen
Ret Nepveu
Ret Molina
Ret Andres Martinez
P: Leon
FL: Leon, 1m11.576s

Championship standings
1 Leon 325   2 Christodoulou 279   3 A Perez de Lara 252   4 Garfias Martinez 238   5 Pablo Perez de Lara 140   6 Garciarce 88   7 Molina 85   8 Escoto 78   9 Morales 74   10 Nepveu 66