Home Formula 3Euroformula Nelson Mason storms to pole at Paul Ricard

Nelson Mason storms to pole at Paul Ricard

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: F3 Open/Fotospeedy

Canadian racer Nelson Mason claimed pole position for the first round of the European F3 Open Winter Series at Paul Ricard, clearing the rest of the field by nearly half a second.

In a thirty minute session, which saw F2 graduate Hector Hurst and Formula Abarth graduate Santiago Urrutia battle for the top of the leaderboards in the beginning, Mason emerged as the pacesetter with ten minutes to go, setting a time that put him comfortably ahead of the rest of the field.

Mason’s West-Tec teammate Ed Jones finished the session in second after being the fastest man on Thursday, while Hurst and his teammate Alexey Chuklin occupied the second row. The top RP Motorsport driver, Alexandre Cougnaud, was fifth, with Sandy Stuvik and Urrutia lining up behind. In eight, Matteo Davenia was quickest out of the Copa F308 drivers (after dominating the class for most of the weekend). Andres Saravia was ninth, ahead of two other Copa drivers mixing it up with the main class – Alex Toril and Mattia Vita.

The race is scheduled to take place at 14:00 GMT, with the Paul Ricard round being one out of two in the F3 Open Winter Series programme.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Nelson Mason Team West-Tec F312 2m02.834s 8
2 Ed Jones Team West-Tec F312 2m03.273s +0.439s 9
3 Hector Hurst Emilio de Villota F312 2m03.387s +0.553s 11
4 Alexey Chuklin Emilio de Villota F312 2m03.448s +0.614s 12
5 Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport F312 2m03.474s +0.640s 13
6 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport F312 2m03.830s +0.996s 11
7 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport F312 2m03.926s +1.092s 12
8 Matteo Davenia DAV Racing F308 2m04.070s +1.236s 11
9 Andres Saravia Emilio de Villota F312 2m04.288s +1.454s 9
10 Alex Toril RP Motorsport F308 2m04.316s +1.482s 13
11 Mattia Vita Top F3 F308 2m04.485s +1.651s 13
12 Valeria Carballo Campos Racing F312 2m05.079s +2.245s 12
13 Igor Urien Emilio de Villota F308 2m05.159s +2.325s 14
14 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec F308 2m05.214s +2.380s 14
15 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec F308 2m05.429s +2.595s 11
16 Lorenzo Paggi Corbetta Competizioni F308 2m05.434s +2.600s 14
17 Liam Venter Team West-Tec F308 2m05.436s +2.602s 11
18 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing F312 2m05.492s +2.658s 14
19 Richard Gonda Drivex School F308 2m05.871s +3.037s 12
20 Artur Janosz Campos Racing F312 2m05.906s +3.072s 12
21 Che One Lim Emilio de Villota F308 2m06.060s +3.226s 10
22 Luca Orlandi Team West-Tec F312 2m06.446s +3.612s 10
23 Nicholas Pohler DAV Racing F308 2m06.931s +4.097s 12
24 Jordan Perroy Top F3 F312 2m07.003s +4.169s 12