Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Neil Maclennan wins reversed grid Anglesey National FF1600 race

Neil Maclennan wins reversed grid Anglesey National FF1600 race

by Alasdair Lindsay

Neil Maclennan bounced back from a disappointing first day of BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 action at Anglesey with a win in the reverse grid race.

Maclennan made light work of the McArthur brothers, who started first and second, firstly taking David McArthur at Rocket on the first lap.

He then passed Tom a lap later at the same corner, faking to the outside and then slipping down the inside of the B-M Racing driver.

The race was then neutralised for a lengthy safety car period when Maclennan’s Kevin Mills Racing team-mate Michael Macpherson went off through the grass on the inside of Rocket.

Macpherson collected championship leader Ross Martin at the apex, with both drivers forced to retire with a broken front right corner and damaged left rear suspension respectively.

His off occurred while battling KMR team-mate Brendon Leigh for position, with Macpherson given two points on his license by officials for the incident.

Racing resumed with under five minutes remaining, with Maclennan able to resist Tom McArthur for the final laps in their lead battle.

Behind the younger McArthur, Cliff Dempsey Racing pair James Clarke and Spike Kohlbecker duelled for position, with Clarke passing Kohlbecker for third place at The Hairpin on the final lap after several laps of applying pressure.

Rory Smith surged from the back of the grid to fifth place by the finish, making up most of those positions in the opening two laps.

Smith then made his way down the inside of Leigh at Rocket for sixth shortly after the restart, and took fifth from fellow back row-starter Jamie Sharp on the last lap, diving to the inside at The Hairpin.

Though he was demoted to sixth on the last lap, Team Dolan’s Sharp still had a strong race, to the point that he had ?no idea? how he?d managed to pass 11 cars in the first two laps when going from 16th to fifth.

Leigh finished seventh, ahead of poleman David McArthur. He blamed his fall through the field on his rivals having ?some really strong engines? after being passed on the long run from Church to Rocket several times.

Oldfield Motorsport’s Aaron Jeansonne and Clubman class winner John Svensson completed the top 10.


Race results (9 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing 21m03.842s
2 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +0.405s
3 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.064s
4 Spike Kohlbecker Kevin Mills Racing +1.283s
5 Rory Smith B-M Racing +2.031s
6 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +2.242s
7 Brendon Leigh Kevin Mills Racing +3.866s
8 David McArthur B-M Racing +4.698s
9 Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport +5.677s
10 John Svensson John’s Racing Team +7.920s
11 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +8.332s
12 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +12.499s
13 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +13.537s
14 Scott Huntley Oldfield Motorsport +16.005s
15 Nicole Woods B-M Racing +24.462s
Ret Ross Martin Team Dolan
Ret Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing
Fastest lap: Smith, 1m34.139s

Championship Standings
Pro? ?1?Martin 209? ?2?Kohlbecker 206? ?3 Maclennan 186? ?4?Clarke 154? ?5?Jonathan Browne 104? ?6 Smith 102? ?7?Macpherson 99? ?8?Sharp 94? ?9 Leigh 79? ?10 Quinn 77

Clubman? ?1 Svensson 181? ?2 Max Marzorati 162? ?3?Quartermaine 157? ?4?Monbaron 143? ?5?Nigel Dolan 61? ?6?Sam Street 40? ?7?Klaus-Dieter Haeckel 40? ?8?Henry Chart 6