Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Munro takes commanding victory at Timaru

Munro takes commanding victory at Timaru

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Neale Motorsport’s James Munro became the third race winner of the 2014 Toyota Racing Series season, producing an extremely confident drive from pole at Timaru.

The Kiwi led every lap and calmly controlled the pace during the 15-lap run, taking the checkered flag more than three-and-a-half seconds ahead of nearest rival Steijn Schothorst.

Further down the grid things were nowhere near as smooth, as a big first-lap shunt in the midfield prompted a red flag and ruled out top-ten starters in Macauley Jones, Matteo Ferrer, Andrew Tang and Martin Kodric.

There were no further interruptions after the race went green again. With Munro comfortably leading at the front, Schothorst soon found himself under pressure from third-placed Egor Orudzhev, who significantly closed in on the Dutchman in the latter stages of the race but wound up settling for third.

Damon Leitch took fourth, while his brother Brendon Leitch came home in sixth behind Neil Alberico – with both drivers celebrating their best results of the season so far.

Martin Rump and Jann Mardenborough managed to recover crucial points after tough luck in qualifying, taking seventh and eighth respectively by overtaking Ryan Tveter in the final laps. Behind the American, Matt Rao rounded out the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 James Munro Neale Motorsport 15 laps in 19:23.992
2 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +3.675
3 Egor Orudzhev M2 Competition +4.258
4 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +5.674
5 Neil Alberico Victory Motor Racing +7.810
6 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +12.162
7 Martin Rump Giles Motorsport +12.486
8 Jann Mardenborough Giles Motorsport +13.497
9 Ryan Tveter Giles Motorsport +16.743
10 Matt Rao Giles Motorsport +17.362
11 Gustavo Lima M2 Competition +18.962
12 Matevos Isaakyan ETEC Motorsport +20.289
13 Alif Hamdan Giles Motorsport +22.574
14 Pedro Piquet M2 Competition +25.232
15 Jordan Oon ETEC Motorsport +39.759
16 Robin Hansson Victory Motor Racing +1 lap
Not classified
Levin Amweg M2 Competition +12 laps
Macauley Jones M2 Competition +15 laps
Matteo Ferrer Giles Motorsport +15 laps
Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport +15 laps
Martin Kodric ETEC Motorsport +15 laps
Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +15 laps
Denis Korneev ETEC Motorsport +15 laps