Home News MP’s Mari Boya on pole for final Spanish F4 race at Paul Ricard

MP’s Mari Boya on pole for final Spanish F4 race at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Spanish karting graduate Mari Boya took his first car racing pole in the second Spanish Formula 4 qualifying session at Paul Ricard.

The session, which sets the grid for the third race of the weekend, began with Drivex School’s Paul-Adrien Pallot at the top of the times, before Boya’s MP Motorsport team-mate Joshua Dufek set the fastest lap.

Jenzer Motorsport’s cameoing Filip Ugran, who won the first race of the weekend, briefly sat in first place before Boya and Dufek made it a proper three-way fight for pole.

Dufek went fastest on his fourth flying lap, with no improvement from Ugran shuffling him down to fourth, and Dufek went even faster next time around as Boya and Ugran got quicker in second and third.

The final lap from Boya ended up being good enough for pole, with Dufek not improving in the final sector and therefore not beating his previous lap. He remained on the front row though, with Oliver Goethe making it a top three lockout for MP.

Reigning Spanish F4 champion Franco Colapinto, who drove for Drivex during his title year, is acting as a driver coach to the MP drivers this weekend.

Global Racing Service’s Lorenzo Fluxa also looked quick and he ended up qualifying fourth, with Ugran improving but ending up 0.411 seconds off pole in fifth place.

Points leader Kas Haverkort was sixth fastest for MP, ahead of top Drivex driver Ivan Nosov (another not to improve on his final attempt), Jenzer’s Francesco Simonazzi, GRS’s Suleiman Zanfari and the sole MOL Racing car of Javier Sagrera.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 2m05.013s 8
2 Joshua Dufek MP Motorsport 2m05.226s +0.213s 8
3 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 2m05.365s +0.352s 8
4 Lorenzo Fluxa Global Racing Service 2m05.415s +0.402s 8
5 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 2m05.424s +0.411s 8
6 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 2m05.589s +0.576s 8
7 Ivan Nosov Drivex School 2m05.686s +0.673s 8
8 Francesco Simonazzi Jenzer Motorsport 2m05.818s +0.805s 8
9 Suleiman Zanfari Global Racing Service 2m05.923s +0.910s 8
10 Javier Sagrera MOL Racing 2m06.169s +1.156s 8
11 Paul-Adrien Pallot Drivex School 2m06.234s +1.221s 8
12 Enzo Joullie MP Motorsport 2m06.296s +1.283s 8
13 Carles Martinez Praga F4 2m06.300s +1.287s 8
14 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 2m06.375s +1.362s 8
15 Agustin Collinot Drivex School 2m06.382s +1.369s 8
16 Valdemar Eriksen Drivex School 2m06.389s +1.376s 8
17 Alex Garcia Global Racing Service 2m06.581s +1.568s 8
18 Eloy Sebastian Lopez Global Racing Service 2m06.648s +1.635s 8
19 Lena Buhler Drivex School 2m06.672s +1.659s 8
20 Quique Bordas Praga F4 2m06.906s +1.893s 8
21 Mehrbod Shameli Xcel Motorsport 2m07.214s +2.201s 8