Home Featured Moyers beats rival Foster to Walter Hayes Last Chance Race win

Moyers beats rival Foster to Walter Hayes Last Chance Race win

by Steve Whitfield

Michael Moyers and Joey Foster eased their way into the Walter Hayes Tropy semi-finals after dominating the Last Chance Race as Silverstone from the back of the grid.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Moyers took victory, by 0.313s ahead of Foster, as the pair continued their recovery from their collision in yesterday?s second heat, having started from 21st and 22nd respectively.

Neil Tofts took the lead at the start from polesitter Matthew Wrigley, with Thomas Johansson gaining two spots to run third. Foster moved up to 10th by the end of the first lap, with Moyers climbing to 12th.

As the cars approached the end of the third lap of 10, Foster and Moyers had already caught the leading trio.

Foster and Moyers assumed first and second spots on the next lap and then pulled away from the field.? The pair enjoyed a close battle for the remainder of the race, with Moyers taking the lead at Brooklands on the penultimate lap.

Don Hardman Racing’s Foster drew alongside Moyers at Luffield on the final lap, but Moyers held on to win.

Tofts finished in a lonely third place for Enigma Motorsport, 13s behind, with Johansson benefiting from Wrigley spinning at Copse to take fourth. Wrigley rejoined and finished the race in ninth.

Alex Gillespie, who took third in the earlier Progression Race behind Moyers and Foster, came through from 23rd on the grid to finish in fifth for KMR after a warm-up lap scare, ahead of Foster’s team-mate Rick Morris.

Neil Broome finished seventh, having started third, ahead of George McDonald, Wrigley, Souley Motorsport’s John Greig and Team Fox Racing’s Joe Watts, son of British F4 champion Robbie Watts.

Jaap Blijleven was one of a number of spinners during the race, but the Dutchman recovered to finish 17th and secure a semi-final place.


Race results (10 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Michael Moyers Kevin Mills Racing 11m25.300s
2 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +0.313s
3 Neil Tofts Enigma Motorsport +13.125s
4 Thomas Johansson Team SKF +18.614s
5 Alex Gillespie Kevin Mills Racing +21.174s
6 Rick Morris Don Hardman Racing +27.391s
7 Neil Broome +30.004s
8 George McDonald +30.228s
9 Matthew Wrigley +31.094s
10 John Greig Souley Motorsport +31.165s
11 Joe Watts Team Fox Racing +31.461s
12 Brad Dias Graham Brunton Racing +32.160s
13 Horatio Fitz-Simon Classic Team Merlyn +32.522s
14 Klaus-Dieter Haeckel Haeckel Motorsport +32.819s
15 Charlie Ghinn +33.386s
16 Adam Fathers AF Racing +34.556s
17 Jaap Blijleven UCLan +34.758s
18 Sam Street SamS Motorsport +36.613s
19 James Pinkerton Rotor Racing +37.014s
20 Paul Barnes +37.903s
21 James Colborn Wayne Poole Racing +39.096s
22 Leanne McShane Souley Motorsport +41.059s
23 Gaius Ghinn +48.621s
24 James Harvey +49.687s
25 David Porter Porter Motorsport +51.071s
26 Will Zanelli +51.443s
27 Hayden Hardyman TM Racing +52.586s
28 Henry Campbell +53.182s
29 Mark De Rozarieux Souley Motorsport +54.689s
30 Joe Walton Souley Motorsport +58.380s
31 Phil Oakes +1m06.128s
32 Laurent Poncin John’s Racing Team +1 lap
33 Steve Barlow Graham Brunton Racing +1 lap
Ret Neil Hunt Enigma Motorsport
Ret Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team
Ret George Ditchfield
Fastest lap: Moyers, 1m07.144s