Home Formula 4Motorsport Games F4 Cup Motorsport Games F4 Cup grid grows with category stars

Motorsport Games F4 Cup grid grows with category stars

by Ida Wood

Photo: SRO / Dirk Bogaerts Photography

The first 12 entries have been confirmed for the second edition of the Motorsport Games Formula 4 Cup, which is contested between nations, with several category stars taking part.

KCMG, manufacturer of the hybrid-powered and halo-shod cars being used, expects a grid of over 20 at Paul Ricard on October 29/30 and has introduced a €10,000 prize for the gold medallist as an incentive for ASNs (national governing bodies) to enter the F4 element of the games.

Although the Hong Kong-based KCMG is a racing team as well as a manufacturer, it will be Hitech GP that runs the full grid of cars. The British team did the same in 2019, when the first Olympics-inspired Motorsport Games was held, and has waited three years to do so again as the second edition was twice postponed by a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Heading the list of confirmed entries so far is Danish F4 champion Julius Dinesen and Brazilian F4 leader Pedro Clerot, both representing those respective nations.

Drivers taking part who have experience of higher categories include Georgia’s Sandro Tavartkiladze, a former Asian Formula Renault racer, and Malaysia’s Alister Yoong who is the son of ex-Formula 1 racer Alex and has been a driver and a mechanic in Formula Regional Asian Championship.

Panama’s Valentino Mini and Switzerland’s Dario Cabanelas may have an advantage as they race at Paul Ricard this weekend for the final round of the French F4 championship.

Chile’s Maria Jose Perez de Arce is currently the only woman on the grid, and she currently races karts and single-seaters in her home country.

The gold medallist will also be in contention to join KCMG’s young driver development programme.

Motorsport Games F4 Cup entry list
Driver Country 2022
TBC Australia
Pedro Clerot Brazil Currently 1st in Brazilian F4
Maria Jose Perez de Arce Chile Currently 5th in Racing Chile ‘F4’
Julius Dinesen Denmark Danish F4 champion
Sandro Tavartkiladze Georgia Touring cars
Valentin Kluss Germany Currently 12th in ADAC F4
Zeno Kovacs Hungary Currently 1st in ACCR F4 Trophy
Alister Yoong Malaysia Caterham Motorsport Championship & TGR Vios Sprint Cup
Valentino Mini Panama Currently 20th in French F4
Manuel Espírito Santo Portugal Currently 12th in Spanish F4
Bruno del Pino Spain Currently 15th in Spanish F4
Dario Cabanelas Switzerland Currently 7th in French F4
Alex Partyshev Ukraine Currently 36th in Italian F4