Home Featured Monaco GP organiser confirms return of F3 to support bill for 2023

Monaco GP organiser confirms return of F3 to support bill for 2023

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Formula 3 will race in Monaco next year for the first time since 2005, as the Formula 1-supporting FIA Formula 3 Championship joins the Monaco Grand Prix support bill.

Automobile Club de Monaco, the organiser of all of Monaco’s motorsport activities, confirmed FIA F3’s place on the grand prix weekend schedule as it launched its ticketing for 2023’s event.

As first exclusively reported by Formula Scout last month, FIA F3 will be replacing Formula Regional European Championship on the support bill as the latter series works on adding the Pau Grand Prix to next year’s calendar.

Monaco is the second circuit to be confirmed as appearing in the 2023 FIA F3 season, following the series’ first ever visit to Australia where races will be held on Melbourne’s Albert Park street circuit on April 1/2.

Due to FIA F3’s 30-car field exceeding the maximum grid size for Monaco, a method will have to be found to eliminate several drivers from racing. A weekend schedule has not yet been released, so it is not confirmed whether there will be one F3 race or two, which is the series’ regular weekend format.

Next year’s Monaco GP, which takes place on May 25-28, will also include Formula 2 support races for the sixth time.

International Formula 3000 and GP2, the series that preceded F2, raced in Monaco from 1998 to 2016, while F3 as a category was a staple of the grand prix weekend from 1964 to 1997, with the F3 Euro Series then visiting in 2005. Future F1 champion Lewis Hamilton was the winner of both races that year.

Monaco F3 race-winners

1964: Jackie Stewart
1965: Peter Revson
1966: Jean-Pierre Beltoise
1967: Henri Pescarolo
1968: Jean-Pierre Jausaud
1969: Ronnie Peterson
1970: Tony Trimmer
1971: David Walker
1972: Patrick Depailler
1973: Jacques Laffite
1974: Tom Pryce
1975: Renzo Zorzi
1976: Bruno Giacomelli
1977: Didier Pironi
1978: Elio de Angelis
1979: Alain Prost
1980: Mauro Baldi
1981 & ‘82: Alain Ferte
1983: Michael Ferte
1984: Ivan Capelli
1985: Pierre-Henri Raphanel
1986: Yannick Dalmas
1987: Didier Artzet
1988: Enrico Bertaggia
1989: Antonio Tamburini
1990: Laurent Aiello
1991: Jorg Muller
1992: Marco Werner
1993 & ‘95: Gianantonio Pacchioni
1994: Giancarlo Fisichella
1996: Marcel Tielmann
1997: Nick Heidfeld
2005: Lewis Hamilton