Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Mini takes pole for FREC race two at Paul Ricard

Mini takes pole for FREC race two at Paul Ricard

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini claimed the pole position for Formula Regional European Championship’s second Paul Ricard race.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort topped the times after all drivers had completed their first attempts in the first group on track for Sunday morning qualifying. Laptimes continued to drop, and with less than four minutes on the clock the Dutchman had lowered his mark to regain first place, which had briefly gone to R-ace GP’s Hadrien David.

There would still be time for one more lap, and it was R-ace’s Gabriel Bortoleto who made the most out of it. The Brazilian beat Haverkort’s benchmark becoming the fastest man in Group B.

Bortoleto’s team-mates Lorenzo Fluxa and David set the third and fourth fastest times respectively, followed by ART GP’s Mari Boya in fifth position.

Trident’s Roman Bilinski was the fastest rookie in sixth place, which means he will start race two of the weekend from 12th place as Group A became the fastest group almost straight away once its session began.

Michael Belov’s first push lap was already over one tenth faster than Bortoleto’s benchmark, and the MP Motorsport driver was soon bettered by race one winner Paul Aron and then by Mini, who took the top spot and eventually pole.

Meanwhile, Prema’s Dino Beganovic sat provisionally outside of the first three rows of the grid after having his best time deleted for exceeding track limits.

No one improved in the last attempt apart from championship leader Beganovic, who did a lap good enough for second in group and third on the grid.

Trident’s Tim Tramnitz was fifth, which means he will be the best starting rookie in ninth. Tramnitz’s last minute improvement meant Arden’s Eduardo Barrichello, who had been within the top five until then, dropped to 11th on the grid for race two.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m58.522s
2 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m58.980s
3 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m58.621s
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.222s
5 Paul Aron Prema 1m58.805s
6 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m59.224s
7 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m58.864s
8 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m59.255s
9 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m58.891s
10 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m59.402s
11 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m58.962s
12 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m59.573s
13 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m59.139s
14 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m59.658s
15 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m59.200s
16 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.710s
17 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m59.234s
18 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m59.786s
19 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m59.392s
20 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m59.863s
21 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m59.417s
22 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m59.930s
23 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m59.561s
24 Noel Leon Arden 2m00.034s
25 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m59.579s
26 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 2m00.037s
27 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.653s
28 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 2m00.196s
29 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m59.734s
30 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 2m00.510s
31 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m59.844s
32 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 2m00.535s
33 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m59.861s
34 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 2m00.874s
35 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 2m00.362s