Home Formula 4Italian F4 Mini heads Italian F4 practice at Imola as four new drivers join grid

Mini heads Italian F4 practice at Imola as four new drivers join grid

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Gabriel Mini topped Italian Formula 4’s Friday free practice at Imola.

Four sessions were held on Wednesday, when Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jak Crawford set the pace.

Crawford was on top in the first of Friday’s two sessions, which took place in the wet. He managed a 2m01.472s lap to put himself 0.055 seconds clear of Mini in second.

It was a stop-start session, with multiple drivers falling foul of the difficult conditions. There were two full course yellow periods, one as Vittorio Catino fell off the track at Turn 12 and later as Andrea Rosso ran into difficulties at Turn 3.

The session was red flagged after Rosso’s incident in the final few minutes.

Mini had been finding improvements despite the difficult conditions, setting quickest split times in the first and third sectors before the red flags.

He continued to set the pace in the drier FP2 session, when he managed a 1m48.228s lap, 0.168s faster than VAR title rival Francesco Pizzi, with Cram Motorsport’s Rosso – another title rival – a further 0.006s back.

VAR’s Johnny Edgar was fourth quickest, followed by Prema’s Kirill Smal and Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen. After topping FP1, Crawford dropped to seventh in the drier session.

Hamda Al Qubaisi was one of a number of drivers to stop on track in FP6, briefly bringing out the red flag again. The session resumed, only to be stopped again as Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto came to a stop on track.

Pietro Armanni, making his single-seater debut with BVM Technorace this weekend, also had an off that required a FCY. Iron Lynx’s Yaroslav Shevyrtalov and Mucke’s Diego Contecha will also be contesting their first event in cars, while Cram’s Nicolas Baptiste is making his first series appearance.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m48.228s 30
2 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.396s +0.168s 28
3 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m48.402s +0.174s 27
4 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.418s +0.190s 21
5 Kirill Smal Prema 1m48.506s +0.278s 28
6 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m48.836s +0.608s 26
7 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.874s +0.646s 28
8 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m48.897s +0.669s 27
9 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace 1m49.202s +0.974s 27
10 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Technorace 1m49.511s +1.283s 28
11 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m49.526s +1.298s 25
12 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m49.565s +1.337s 28
13 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.578s +1.350s 27
14 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.715s +1.487s 27
15 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.807s +1.579s 28
16 Ollie Bearman US Racing 1m50.111s +1.883s 26
17 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m50.255s +2.027s 28
18 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m50.414s +2.186s 30
19 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m50.667s +2.439s 25
20 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport 1m50.944s +2.716s 27
21 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx 1m51.021s +2.793s 28
22 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech 1m51.423s +3.195s 26
23 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m51.487s +3.259s 26
24 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport 1m52.056s +3.828s 27
25 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m52.903s +4.675s 27
26 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m52.973s +4.745s 23
27 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport 1m53.255s +5.027s 15
28 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.280s +5.052s 23
29 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport 1m53.303s +5.075s 24
30 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m53.589s +5.361s 20
31 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m54.151s +5.923s 26
32 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m54.777s +6.549s 26
33 Pietro Armanni BVM Technorace 1m57.218s +8.990s 22
34 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 2m01.148s +12.920s 15