Home Formula 4Danish F4 Mika Abrahams stars at Sweden’s Sturup track on Danish F4 debut

Mika Abrahams stars at Sweden’s Sturup track on Danish F4 debut

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formel4.dk

South Africa’s Mika Abrahams was the top scorer in Danish Formula 4’s visit to Sturup Raceway in Sweden.

Abrahams missed round one due to not yet being the minimum age of 14, but was quickly onto the pace at Suturp as he qualified second, just 0.047 seconds behind poleman Julius Dinesen.

His first F4 start was also strong, drawing ahead of Dinesen but not able to stay ahead. Dinesen led lap one by almost half a second, and thereon slowly expanded that gap to finish 3.308s clear.

Theodor Jensen and Magnus Pedersen ran closely in their battle for third, which continued until the end of the 19th lap when the race ended. However the chequered flag should have been waved after 17 laps, and so the outcome of their fight was taken from then when Jensen had just got ahead.

Alyx Coby beat Victor Nielsen in a straight battle for fifth, and Frederik Stena finished seventh.

Race two was far more dramatic, with Formula 5 runner Mille Hoe and Stena on the reversed grid front row.

Stena took the lead off the line, while there was drama for Coby who fell through the order before pitting at the end of the lap. Nielsen dropped places on lap two, allowing Dinesen through to then challenge Pedersen for second.

A messy battle then resulted in Abrahams passing instead and Nielsen getting through too, while Stena was alone up front. Series returnee William Wulf hunted him down though as the race went on, while Dinesen and Nielsen tangled just as the latter was making an overtake.

The safety car came out, after Wulf had taken the lead from Stena, and he didn’t get a chance to respond until the final lap when the track went green again. Wulf held on to take his third series win by 1.197s.

Abrahams completed the podium, and Mads Hoe passed Jensen to finish fifth.

Abrahams had pole for race three, and converted it into an assured first win. Pedersen started and finished second, and Dinesen made early progress to secure third. Mads Hoe passed Wulf late on for fourth, with Wulf then losing another spot to Jensen.

With pre-event championship leader Sebastian Gravlund absent due to Spanish F4 commitments, Dinesen is the new points leader.

Results round-up
Race 1 (17 laps)
1 Julius Dinesen STEP Motorsport 16m53.199s
2 Mika Abrahams Team FSP +3.308s
3 Theodor Jensen Team FormulaSport +12.936s
3 Magnus Pedersen MP Racing +13.389s
5 Alyx Coby Team FSP +21.370s
6 Victor Nielsen STEP Motorsport +22.069s
7 Frederik Stena SD Racing +49.370s
8 Mille Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport +1 lap
9 Michella Rasmussen Henriksen Racing +1 lap
Ret William Wulf Team FSP
Pole: Dinesen, 59.030s
Fastest lap: Dinesen, 59.040s

Race 2 (14 laps)
1 Wulf 16m39.801s
2 Stena +1.197s
3 Abrahams +1.657s
4 Pedersen +1.973s
5 Mads Hoe +2.303s
6 Jensen +2.862s
7 Nielsen 3.241s
8 Peter Henriksen Henriksen Racing +4.494s
9 Mille Hoe +9.009s
10 Rasmussen +30.518s
FL: Mads Hoe, 59.795s

Race 3 (16 laps)
1 Abrahams 16m00.237s
2 Pedersen +1.276s
3 Dinesen +3.604s
4 Mads Hoe +12.773s
5 Jensen +16.444s
6 Wulf +16.959s
7 Nielsen +18.446s
8 Stena +31.772s
9 Coby +32.013s
10 Mille Hoe +1 lap
FL: Abrahams, 59.484s

Championship standings
1 Dinesen 91   2 Pedersen 84   3 Sebastian Gravlund 75   4 Abrahams 58   5 Nielsen 58   6 Jensen 53   7 Stena 52   8 Wulf 34   9 Coby 24   10 Mads Hoe 22