Home Formula 4British F4 Kiwi youngster Louis Sharp wins in British F4 at Oulton Park

Kiwi youngster Louis Sharp wins in British F4 at Oulton Park

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin’s Louis Sharp claimed his maiden British Formula 4 triumph in the third race at Oulton Park.

The 15-year-old qualified second but led within the first second of the race as Hitech GP’s poleman Alex Dunne was slow off the line and also lost a spot to JHR Developments’ Georgi Dimitrov as drops of rain landed on the track.

The pace between the top three was pretty equal at first, with Sharp fastest of the three but usually only by a tenth of a second per lap.

His lead, while usually growing, only grew to a second after 10 laps, and that was at the same time as Dunne set the fastest lap of the race in third place. There was only lap left after that, so it was still enough for Sharp to run without pressure from start to finish and earn his first victory ahead of Dimitrov who claimed his first non-reversed grid race podium in the series.

Third place for Dunne means his championship lead extends to 68 points over Ollie Gray, who with sixth place moves past his team-mate Ugo Ugochukwu for the runner-up spot in the standings. Ugochukwu started at the back of the grid and had made it up to 11th before being gifted a point for 10th place when Oliver Stewart retired from seventh on the last lap.

Virtuosi Racing had a race to forget, as Michael Shin lost his front wing on the formation lap then team-mate Edward Pearson got a puncture on lap one after Chris Dittmann Racing’s Joel Pearson made contact as he dived down his inside at the Island hairpin.

Joel Pearson picked up damage and later had an off at the chicane when he passed Joseph Loake, and ended up fighting his car all the way to a lowly 12th.

Race result (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Louis Sharp Carlin 15m01.752s
2 Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments +1.117s
3 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +1.826s
4 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport +2.838s
5 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport +2.483s
6 Ollie Gray Carlin +4.830s
7 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP +9.665s
8 Noah Lisle JHR Developments +11.745s
9 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +12.391s
10 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin +13.018s
11 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport +14.584s
12 Joel Pearson Chris Dittmann Racing +21.898s
13 Michael Shin Virtuosi +28.829s
14 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP +36.263s
Ret Oliver Stewart Hitech GP
Ret Edward Pearson Virtuosi
Fastest lap: Dunne, 1m20.864s

Championship standings
1 Dunne 202   Gray 134   3 Ugochukwu 132   4 Neate 98   5 Sharp 90   6 Guinchard 82   7 Dimitrov 82   8 Loake 69   9 Coseteng 56   10 Shin 50