Home Featured Mick Schumacher takes European F3 lead with Red Bull Ring victory

Mick Schumacher takes European F3 lead with Red Bull Ring victory

by Craig Woollard

Prema’s Mick Schumacher took his fourth European Formula 3 win in a row at the Red Bull Ring, resisting race-long pressure from Prema team-mate Robert Shwartzman in wet conditions.

Polesitter Schumacher and fellow front-row starter Shwartzman both started well and duelled in the early phase of the 23-lap contest. In the closing stages Schumacher opened up a small gap, but it was back down to 0.9 seconds by the chequered flag.

Motopark’s Dan Ticktum could only manage eighth, dropping down to 10th on the opening lap, and as a result the former championship leader is now 18 points behind Schumacher at the top of the standings.

Despite starting 13th, Hitech GP’s Alex Palou finished the race in third. He and Carlin’s Ferdinand Habsburg made sensational starts, rocketing up towards the front of the field in the opening phases of the race.

Habsburg, started 11th for his home race, and leapt up to fourth on the opening lap before displacing Marcus Armstrong on lap two. However, Habsburg dropped a few places by running wide on the fifth lap, and ended up finishing fifth behind the New Zealender.

Motopark filled sixth to ninth positions, with Juri Vips and Jonathan Aberdein clear of Ticktum’s battle with Fabio Scherer. Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala spent most of his race fighting with Ticktum, and only fell to 10th behind Scherer late on.

Ralf Aron was the only retiree, starting from the back of the grid and then heading to pitlane in his Prema car. He is now 78.5 points off the championship lead.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 35m30.307s
2 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.903s
3 Alex Palou Hitech GP +5.811s
4 Marcus Armstrong Prema +12.911s
5 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +15.505s
6 Juri Vips Motopark +17.127s
7 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +17.256s
8 Dan Ticktum Motopark +19.409s
9 Fabio Scherer Motopark +24.864s
10 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +26.718s
11 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +28.286s
12 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +28.616s
13 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +29.737s
14 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +31.341s
15 Marino Sato Motopark +34.842s
16 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +39.602s
17 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +45.723s
18 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +49.928s
19 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +57.660s
20 Julian Hanses Carlin +58.101s
21 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +1m00.927s
22 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +1m04.008s
Ret Ralf Aron Prema
Fastest lap: Armstrong, 1m34.096s

Championship Standings
1 Schumacher 286   2 Ticktum 268   3 Armstrong 232   4 Vips 226   5 Aron 207.5   6 Shwartzman 201   7 Palou 172   8 Ahmed 168   9 Zhou 165   10 Daruvala 118.5