Home Z - Archive seriesAuto GP Michimi wins final Auto GP race of 2014 at Estoril

Michimi wins final Auto GP race of 2014 at Estoril

by Peter Allen
Shinya Michimi

Photo: Auto GP

Japanese driver Shinya Michimi collected his first Auto GP victory in the final race of the season at Estoril.

Michele La Rosa led the first lap after starting on pole position, but was passed on lap two by series debutant Luis Sa Silva.

Michimi had fallen back from third to eighth at the start, but an early pitstop allowed him to run in clean air and post a series of fastest laps. That put himself in position to take the lead once everybody else stopped.

Sa Silva had rejoined from his stop close behind Michimi, but slipped to 3.6 seconds behind by the flag.

Antonio Pizzonia ran third early on, taking second from La Rosa on lap four but rejoining behind Michimi when he stopped, leaving him third at the end.

Race one winner Tamas Pal Kiss was close behind in fourth, which was not enough to claim the teams’ title for Virtuosi. They finished up six points adrift of Super Nova, whose lead driver Markus Pommer was some way back in fifth despite stopping even earlier than Michimi.

La Rosa wound up sixth ahead of late stopper Francesco Dracone, Andrea Roda and Salvatore De Plano. 2013 champion Vittorio Ghirelli retired after front end damage.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Shinya Michimi Euronova Racing 20 laps in 31:02.608
2 Luis Sa Silva Zele Racing +3.698
3 Antonio Pizzonia Zele Racing +5.208
4 Tamas Pal Kiss Virtuosi UK +6.676
5 Markus Pommer Super Nova +15.639
6 Michele La Rosa MLR 71 by Euronova +28.519
7 Francesco Dracone Super Nova +48.078
8 Andrea Roda Virtuosi UK +53.171
9 Salvatore De Plano FMS Racing +1 lap
Not classified
Vittorio Ghirelli Super Nova +16 laps