Home Formula 4Italian F4 McLaren junior Ugochukwu fastest in Italian F4 pre-event test at Misano

McLaren junior Ugochukwu fastest in Italian F4 pre-event test at Misano

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu was fastest in Thursday pre-event testing for Italian Formula 4 at Misano.

BVM Racing’s Alfio Spina was the early pacesetter in the two-hour morning session, leading the way after 10 minutes with a 1m37.514s. He improved on his next lap but was beaten by US Racing’s Akshay Bohra, who set a 1m36.753s, then Prema’s James Wharton posted a 1m36.293s.

Spina broke into the 1m36s on his lap after but was shuffled down to fifth. US Racing’s Kacper Sztuka was first into the 1m35s, with Prema’s drivers getting close to his pace in the first 20 minutes and US Racing’s Zachary David also lapping sub-1m36s.

Tuukka Taponen toppled Sztuka after 23 minutes with a 1m35.329s, and the Prema driver stayed in first place for almost 20 minutes before Van Amersfoort Racing’s Brando Badoer rose from 14th to first with a 1m35.205s.

He improved to 1m35.057s, while Sztuka in third also improved his pace, then at the start of the second hour there was a red flag stoppage. Another occurred with 22 minutes remaining, and Badoer was still on top.

There was a flurry of improvements in the final 12 minutes once track action resumed, with VAR’s Ivan Domingues going fastest with a 1m35.004s and Taponen slotting into third with a 1m35.329s.

Prema’s Arvid Lindblad then went second fastest, 0.029s off Domingues, with Wharton going fourth fastest seconds later and then Badoer setting a new 1m34.755s benchmark just a few moments after that.

Lindblad’s next lap was a 1m34.977s, returning him to second place, but after that Wharton set a 1m34.891s to sit 0.136s behind Badoer.

Taponen improved to fourth and was just 0.012s slower than Lindblad, with Domingues finishing 0.249s behind in fifth. The top 16 were covered by a second.

There was lots of activity at the start of the afternoon session. Jenzer Motorsport’s Kim Hwarang was fastest at first, then Bohra. A few minutes later Jenzer’s Ethan Ischer was on top, with team-mate Ariel Elkin and Ugochukwu going even faster before red flags were waved. David went fastest after the restart, and ended the first half-hour on top with a 1m35.149s.

A minute later Ugochukwu set a 1m35.071s, and a 1m35.118s from Sztuka put him in second. Wharton improved in fourth, then the order went unchanged until the second hour when Bohra went fastest by 0.067s.

Sztuka matched Bohra’s pace, and next time by went 0.042s faster to break into the 1m34s. There was then a red flag stoppage, and later on with 27 minutes remaining US Racing’s Gianmarco Pradel went fifth.

The final 15 minutes had more action, as Sztuka and David moved to the top. Lindblad and then Ugochukwu went fastest with seven minutes to go, Wharton went third fastest with two minutes left and Taponen moved into fifth in the final minute.

Uguochukwu, with a 1m34.689s, and Lindblad both beat Badoer’s morning benchmark, and less than a second covered the afternoon’s top 25. Badoer, Domingues, Matheus Ferreira, Davide Larini, Jack Beeton and Manuel Quondamcarlo set their personal bests in the morning.

Pre-event test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m34.689s 68
2 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m34.720s +0.031s 67
3 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.755s +0.066s 78
4 James Wharton Prema 1m34.773s +0.084s 68
5 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m34.815s +0.126s 76
6 Tuukka Taponen Prema 1m34.834s +0.145s 68
7 Zachary David US Racing 1m34.838s +0.149s 72
8 Akshay Bohra US Racing 1m34.864s +0.175s 77
9 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.004s +0.315s 84
10 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m35.106s +0.417s 74
11 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m35.185s +0.496s 87
12 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.283s +0.594s 81
13 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.319s +0.630s 66
14 Ariel Elkin Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.390s +0.701s 81
15 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m35.396s +0.707s 85
16 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m35.435s +0.746s 69
17 Ruiqi Liu US Racing 1m35.450s +0.761s 71
18 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m35.489s +0.800s 57
19 Niko Lacorte Prema 1m35.510s +0.821s 70
20 Andrea Frassineti BVM Racing 1m35.606s +0.917s 70
21 Frederik Lund AKM Motorsport 1m35.621s +0.932s 70
22 Kim Hwarang Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.659s +0.970s 58
23 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing 1m35.674s +0.985s 84
24 Aurelia Nobels Prema 1m35.678s +0.989s 62
25 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport 1m35.681s +0.992s 74
26 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing 1m35.698s +1.009s 79
27 Davide Larini AKM Motorsport 1m35.885s +1.196s 77
28 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m35.903s +1.214s 76
29 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.928s +1.239s 77
30 Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP 1m35.945s +1.256s 79
31 Ismail Akhmed Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.024s +1.335s 84
32 Guido Luchetti Airflow Racing 1m36.426s +1.737s 67
33 Manuel Quondamcarlo AS Motorsport 1m36.528s +1.839s 98
34 Max Cuccarese AS Motorsport 1m37.900s +3.211s 58