Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Mawson survives early battle to win race one at Lausitz

Mawson survives early battle to win race one at Lausitz

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Gruppe C GmbH

Photo: Gruppe C GmbH

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joseph Mawson has closed in on the ADAC F4 points lead by taking his second win of the season in race one at Lausitz.

With points leader Joel Eriksson barred from taking part in the race alongside Mick Schumacher and Glenn Rupp for ignoring red flags in qualifying, Mawson looked in prime position to capitalise.

And capitalise he did, converting a front row start into a win that takes him to within 13 points of Eriksson.

Off the line, Mawson beat poleman Marvin Dienst to take the lead into T1, with the German also losing out to HTP teammate Janneau Esmeijer.

The Dutchman then worked his way around Mawson to lead the opening lap, but was sideways on exit of T2 on the second lap, allowing the Aussie to muscle his way back into first place.

It was then that Mawson began to check out, putting in purple sectors and establishing a solid lead over Esmeijer.

Behind, Robert Shwartzman cleared Dienst for third and quickly began to reel in Esmeijer, who appeared to struggle massively for pace in the latter stages.

He bunched up the field behind him, allowing Mike David Ortmann to pass Dienst for fourth before following his teammate Shwartzman through on Esmeijer.

Under massive pressure, Esmeijer continued to lose spots and then got loose on the inside of T1, bumping into Tim Zimmermann with his right rear wheel and sending the Neuhauser driver into a spin.

With Toni Wolf crashing into the barriers further down the order, a lengthy safety car period followed, erasing Mawson’s significant lead.

But it was of little consequence for the Aussie, who controlled the restart and eased to the chequered flag.

Shwartzman took second, holding off Dienst, who had passed Ortmann slightly prior to the safety car.

The latter settled for a career-best fourth, ahead of fellow Mucke driver David Beckmann and Jannes Fittje, who picked up his first points in the series.

ADAC Formel Masters veterans Kim-Luis Schramm and Jason Kremer were seventh and tenth, split by rookies Jonathan Cecotto and Cedric Piro.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Joseph Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing 20 laps in 30:23.175
2 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +0.869
3 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team +1.513
4 Mike David Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +3.283
5 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +3.619
6 Jannes Fittje Motopark +4.638
7 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +5.062
8 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +6.690
9 Cedric Piro Piro Sports +7.434
10 Jason Kremer Team Timo Scheider +8.107
11 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +8.542
12 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +10.895
13 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +11.591
14 Jan Jonck RS Competition +11.818
15 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +12.102
16 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +12.208
17 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider +13.256
18 Marek B?ckmann Jenzer Motorsport +13.299
19 Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team +16.292
20 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +17.295
21 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +17.647
22 Michelle Halder Liqui Moly Team Engstler +19.191
23 Job van Uitert Privateer +19.962
24 Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +32.103
25 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +34.492
Not classified
Luca Engstler Liqui Moly Team Engstler +4 laps
Toni Wolff Piro Sports +9 laps
Arlind Hoti Jenzer Motorsport +12 laps
Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +12 laps
Michael Waldherr Motopark +16 laps