Home Formula 4British F4 Matias Zagazeta sets practice pace at Snetterton in British F4

Matias Zagazeta sets practice pace at Snetterton in British F4

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Argenti Motorsport driver Matias Zagazeta was the fastest across free practice for round two of the British Formula 4 season at Snetterton.

Zagazeta came out on top in a hotly contested battle for top spot in FP1 in the morning, and headed Fortec Motorsports’ Oliver Gray by 0.237 seconds.

The Peruvain went fastest in the session with four-and-a-half minutes to go as much of the field embarked on improvements.

JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees had been the early pacesetter ahead of Zagazeta, who moved to the top with 13 minutes to go with the first sub-1m53s lap of the day.

Over half of the grid ended up joining him in the 1m52s, but nobody could get beat him until Argenti team-mate Eduardo Coseteng went fastest with a 1m52.495s. Gray then set a 1m52.224s to lower the benchmark, but Zagazeta responded by setting a 1m51.987s.

Zagazeta sat at the top again in FP2 for the first 10 minutes, before conceding the position to JHR’s McKenzy Cresswell. With most drivers then heading back to the pits, Cresswell remained in first place for 20 minutes.

Only Rees and Carlin’s Roman Bilinski late on were able to surpass Cresswell’s benchmark, with Fortec’s points leader James Hedley and JHR’s Abbi Pulling also going faster than Zagazeta. Rees and Hedley were the only two drivers to set their fastest lap in FP2.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Matias Zagazeta Argenti Motorsport 1m51.987s 38
2 Oliver Gray Fortec Motorsports 1m52.224s +0.237s 41
3 Zak Taylor Arden 1m52.344s +0.357s 33
4 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments 1m52.400s +0.413s 37
5 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m52.483s +s2 34
6 Eduardo Coseteng Argenti Motorsport 1m52.495s +0.508s 36
7 Roman Bilinski Carlin 1m52.498s +0.511s 37
8 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 1m52.516s +0.529s 41
9 Marcos Flack Argenti Motorsport 1m52.527s +0.540s 34
10 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments 1m52.587s +0.600s 40
11 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m52.632s +0.645s 36
12 James Hedley Fortec Motorsports 1m52.804s +s2 29
13 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Carlin 1m52.886s +0.899s 35
14 Georgi Dimitrov Richardson Racing 1m52.900s +0.913s 36
15 Kai Askey Carlin 1m52.951s +0.964s 35
16 Dougie Bolger Carlin 1m53.006s +1.019s 38
17 Thomas Ikin Arden 1m53.027s +1.040s 38
18 David Morales Arden 1m54.713s +2.726s 38