Home Featured Martins wins F3 feature race at Barcelona to claim points lead

Martins wins F3 feature race at Barcelona to claim points lead

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins claimed victory in the Barcelona’s FIA Formula 3 feature race after taking the lead in the first corner.

Behind Martins, polesitter Roman Stanek resisted the pressure from Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar throughout the race as they finished second and third respectively.

Martins took the lead of the race from Trident’s Stanek around the outside of turn one. Meanwhile, his championship rival Arthur Leclerc dropped four places due to a slow start, completing the opening lap in ninth place.

The safety car was out on lap four as a consequence of an incident between Rafael Villagomez and Kush Maini at turn 12. The Indian touched the right-rear wheel of the Mexican, who was on the outside, resulting in Villagomez ending up in the wall. Maini was handed a 10-second time penalty for the incident.

At the restart, Prema’s Jak Crawford passed Hitech’s Kaylen Frederick for sixth place. Frederick was subsequently overtaken by Caio Collet, dropping to eighth.

Carlin’s Brad Benavides crashed out of the race at turn two on lap 11 of 24, bringing out the safety car once again.

When the race resumed, Saturday’s sprint race winner David Vidales attempted a move on Leclerc around the outside of turn one. Both drivers touched and the Campos Racing driver retired from the race at the end of the lap. Leclerc was able to continue in 11th, but received a five-second time penalty for the incident.

On the following lap, Hunter Yeany went into the inside of his Campos team-mate Pepe Marti at turn five. Yeany touched the left-rear wheel of Marti damaging his front-wing. Both drivers, who were running within the top 15, fell to the back of the pack.

In the closing stages, Leclerc tried to regain positions going through the grass on the pit straight, pushed off by an aggressive Juan Manuel Correa. The ART GP driver would retake 10th place with an unusual move at the entry of the chicane. This left Leclerc disadvantaged going onto the straight and Gregoire Saucy tried to take advantage of it. Leclerc held on to finish 11th on the road, 14th after his penalty was applied.

Trident’s Zane Maloney, who started from the pit-lane, avoided trouble and fought his way up to 13th place at the flag.

Race result (24 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 43m43.673s
2 Roman Stanek Trident +2.368s
3 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP +3.026s
4 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport +3.624s
5 Ollie Bearman Prema +4.348s
6 Jak Crawford Prema +5.420s
7 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +6.633s
8 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing +6.899s
9 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP +8.431s
10 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +12.094s
11 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +14.186s
12 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport +15.236s
13 Zane Maloney Trident +17.510s
14 Arthur Leclerc Prema +18.398s
15 Oliver Rasmussen Trident +18.747s
16 Lirim Zendeli Charouz Racing System +21.287s
17 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport +26.079s
18 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System +26.651s
19 Nazim Azman Hitech GP +27.867s
20 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing +28.281s
21 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +28.482s
22 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +29.713s
23 Enzo Trulli Carlin +29.906s
24 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System +31.123s
25 Kush Maini MP Motorsport +54.804s
26 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing +1m25.486s
Ret Zak O’Sullivan Carlin
Ret David Vidales Campos Racing
Ret Brad Benavides Carlin
Ret Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m37.030s

Championship standings
1 Martins 62   2 Stanek 56   3 Crawford 50   4 Hadjar 47   5 Leclerc 43   6 Smolyar 28   7 Bearman 27   8 Colapinto 26   9 Correa 21   10 Vidales 19