Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins starts Eurocup’s Barcelona round by setting test pace

Martins starts Eurocup’s Barcelona round by setting test pace

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Formula Renault Eurocup points leader Victor Martins was fastest in the four-hour long pre-event test at Barcelona.

The ART Grand Prix driver had been at the circuit two days before to drive in FIA Formula 3 Championship post-season testing, along with title rivals Caio Collet and Franco Colapinto, and used that experience to be straight on the pace once he returned to his usual regional F3 car.

He ended Eurocup’s Thursday test with an advantage of less than a tenth of a second over Arden’s Alex Quinn, whose team-mate Ugo de Wilde just outpaced R-ace GP’s Collet for third place.

Bhaitech’s Lorenzo Colombo was fifth fastest, ahead of MP Motorsport pair Colapinto and Hadrien David. The third of the team’s cars was being driven by Spanish Formula 4 leader Kas Haverkort, who will be making his Eurocup debut this weekend.

The Dutch teenager ended up 12th fastest of the 18 drivers in the test, under a second off the experienced Martins’ pace.

Martins’ team-mates Paul Aron and Gregoire Saucy were eighth and ninth on the timesheet and the last drivers within a second of the fastest time.

JD Motorsport’s David Vidales, who is the closest rival to Martins and Collet in the standings, rounded out the top 10.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m42.862s 36
2 Alex Quinn Arden 1m42.950s +0.088s 53
3 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m43.063s +0.201s 52
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m43.072s +0.210s 49
5 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m43.201s +0.339s 51
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m43.293s +0.431s 43
7 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m43.298s +0.436s 48
8 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m43.318s +0.456s 50
9 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m43.335s +0.473s 52
10 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m43.380s +0.518s 58
11 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m43.534s +0.672s 70
12 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m43.714s +0.852s 46
13 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m43.731s +0.869s 45
14 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m43.866s +1.004s 41
15 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m44.120s +1.258s 47
16 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m44.304s +1.442s 51
17 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m44.640s +1.778s 57
18 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m44.980s +2.118s 63