Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins fronts free practice on Eurocup’s Zandvoort return

Martins fronts free practice on Eurocup’s Zandvoort return

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series

Victor Martins was quickest in both of the Formula Renault Eurocup free practice sessions at Zandvoort, which is hosting the series for the first time since 2000 this weekend.

While both sessions took place in challenging weather conditions, the morning session was by far the faster.

It didn’t take long for ART Grand Prix driver Martins to rise to the top, and the session was stopped after 15 minutes when FA Racing by Manor’s Tijmen van der Helm ended up in the gravel at Turn 10.

Martins’ team-mate Paul Aron took over at the top once action resumed, but he was then shuffled back down the order and the Mercedes-Benz Formula 1 junior ended up causing a session-ending red flag when he stopped on track.

The gap between Martins and his title rival Ciao Collet at this point was 0.371 seconds, and the Brazilian was the closest to Martins’ pace.

Gregoire Saucy and Aron were third and fourth fastest for ART, with van der Helm’s team-mate Amaury Cordeel completing the top five.

The MP Motorsport trio of Franco Colapinto, Hadrien David and the debuting Roman Stanek were sixth, seventh and eighth, while JD Motorsport’s title contender David Vidales propped up the timesheet and was 4.119s off the pace.

Rain inflicted the start of the second practice session, but as the track dried it was Martins who was fastest again. The rain then returned and caught out MP’s David and Stanek, leading to a red flag stoppage. While the green flag was eventually waved again, there was no improvement in laptimes and Martins led Collet again.

After going 10th fastest in FP1, 2019 champion Oscar Piastri ended his Eurocup return with the third fastest laptime in FP2. Series regulations prevent the reigning FIA Formula 3 Championship from contesting any further sessions this weekend.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m31.202s 31
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m31.573s +0.371s 31
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m31.815s +0.613s 29
4 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m31.939s +0.737s 29
5 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m32.063s +0.861s 15
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m32.165s +0.963s 35
7 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m32.202s +1.000s 16
8 Roman Stanek MP Motorsport 1m32.360s +1.158s 31
9 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m32.651s +1.449s 36
10 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 1m32.657s +1.455s 30
11 Alex Quinn Arden 1m32.920s +1.718s 32
12 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m33.085s +1.883s 33
13 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m33.189s +1.987s 31
14 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m33.219s +2.017s 30
15 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m33.660s +2.458s 33
16 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m33.679s +2.477s 30
17 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m34.006s +2.864s 33
18 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m34.474s +3.272s 24
19 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m35.321s +4.119s 18