Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins claims fourth Eurocup Barcelona pole in a row

Martins claims fourth Eurocup Barcelona pole in a row

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series

Victor Martins controlled the first Formula Renault Eurocup qualifying session at Barcelona, as title rival Caio Collet got himself onto the front row at the very end.

ART Grand Prix’s Martins stretched his run of poles at the circuit to four in a row, and had an advantage of over a third of a second for much of the session.

His team-mate Gregoire Saucy was his closest rival going into the final few minutes of qualifying, but many of the drivers left it late to set their best laps.

With three seconds to go it was MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto who jumped up to second place, while his debuting team-mate Kas Havekort set a lap good enough for seventh.

There were more improvements after the chequered flag had been waved, with R-ace GP’s Collet snatching second place with a lap 0.219 seconds off Martins’ early benchmark.

Arden’s Alex Quinn also moved up to fifth, meaning Spanish Formula 4 leader Haverkort was shuffled down to eighth behind FA Racing’s Amaury Cordeel and Arden’s Ugo de Wilde – who had spent much of his time near the top of the timesheet.

JD Motorsport’s title contenders William Alatalo and David Vidales were within a second of the pace but down in 12th and 13th, and Bhaitech’s series veteran Lorenzo Colombo could manage no better than 16th.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m42.542s 8
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m42.761s +0.219s 9
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m42.915s +0.373s 9
4 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m42.995s +0.453s 8
5 Alex Quinn Arden 1m43.068s +0.526s 9
6 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m43.125s +0.583s 9
7 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m43.134s +0.592s 9
8 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m43.156s +0.614s 9
9 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m43.188s +0.646s 9
10 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m43.192s +0.650s 9
11 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m43.229s +0.687s 8
12 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m43.295s +0.753s 9
13 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m43.420s +0.878s 8
14 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m43.435s +0.893s 10
15 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m43.769s +1.227s 9
16 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m43.854s +1.663s 11
17 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m44.273s +1.883s 11
18 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m44.554s +2.389s 11