Home Featured Marti takes pole for his and Campos’s home F3 round at Barcelona

Marti takes pole for his and Campos’s home F3 round at Barcelona

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Campos Racing

Pepe Marti took his maiden FIA Formula 3 pole on home soil at Barcelona to kick off Campos Racing’s 25th anniversary celebrations. 

Marti jumped to the top of the times midway through qualifying, moving to the front by less than a tenth of a second. 

He then improved to stretch his advantage, with the Campos driver managing to set a 1m27.587s laptime around the new chicane-free Barcelona circuit, 0.250 seconds quicker than Jenzer Motorsport’s practice pacesetter Taylor Barnard in second place. 

Ahead of qualifying, there was potential for wet weather to disrupt running. All the field headed out straight away to set a banker lap before the rain could come. However, the session was completed before the first drops of rain reached the track. 

Franco Colapinto topped the times after the first laps but dropped down the order as others found improvements. He jumped up the order again to qualify third, ahead of Dino Beganovic and Paul Aron. 

Championship leader Gabriele Bortoleto was fifth quickest, while early title rival Gabriele Mini could do no better than 18th place after his fastest lap was deleted due to a track limits violation.

Gregoire Saucy, who is third in the championship, will start the feature race from 10th, just behind Leonardo Fornaroli who was second after the first set of laps were completed. 

Zak O’Sullivan will start on pole for Saturday’s reversed-grid sprint race, with Luke Browning alongside him on the front row. 

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.587s 12
2 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m27.837s +0.250s 12
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m27.864s +0.277s 12
4 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m27.930s +0.343s 12
5 Paul Aron Prema 1m27.934s +0.347s 12
6 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m28.005s +0.418s 12
7 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m28.072s +0.485s 12
8 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m28.082s +0.495s 12
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m28.087s +0.500s 12
10 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m28.105s +0.518s 12
11 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m28.141s +0.554s 11
12 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m28.189s +0.602 12
13 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m28.198s +0.611s 12
14 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.256s +0.669s 12
15 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m28.324s +0.737s 12
16 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m28.324s +0.737s 12
17 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m28.486s +0.899s 12
18 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m28.524s +0.937s 11
19 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m28.612s +1.025s 12
20 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.624s +1.037s 11
21 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m28.847s +1.260s 12
22 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.874s +1.287s 12
23 Ollie Gray Carlin 1m28.909s +1.322s 11
24 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.018s +1.431s 12
25 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.230s +1.643s 12
26 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz 1m29.365s +1.778s 12
27 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz 1m29.488s +1.901s 12
28 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz 1m29.601s +2.014s 12
29 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m29.617s +2.030s 12
30 Hunter Yeany Carlin 1m29.716s +2.129s 12