Home News Marschall, Lappalainen and Amweg among entrants for Audi’s TT Cup

Marschall, Lappalainen and Amweg among entrants for Audi’s TT Cup

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Audi Sport’s newly-established TT Cup has attacted three high-profile entrants from the lower levels of the junior single-seater ladder.

Swiss driver Levin Amweg, Finn Joonas Lappalainen and German Dennis Marschall are included in the 18-driver entry list for the inaugural 2015 season.

The series replaces the Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup on the DTM support bill and will feature six rounds of two races each.

Amweg, 20, is the last champion of the Formula Lista series, having claimed the title in 2012. He was a race winner in the FR2.0 NEC championship in 2014, representing ART Junior Team.

Lappalainen, 16, is the youngest driver on the grid and the champion of the STCC-supporting Formula Renault 1.6 Nordic. Prior to that, he was runner-up in the Finnish Formula Ford championship.

Marschall, 18, won three races in his first year in cars in the entry-level ADAC Formel Masters series. He finished sixth overall.

The first season of the TT Cup will also feature former French F4 driver Lucile Cypriano, Euroformula Open graduate Wei Fung Thong and Malgosia Rdest, who won the award for the most overtakes in the inaugural BRDC F4 season in 2013.