Home Formula 3Euroformula Marcos Siebert takes penultimate pole of Euroformula Open season

Marcos Siebert takes penultimate pole of Euroformula Open season

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Marcos Siebert took his first Euroformula Open pole in the penultimate qualifying session of the season at Barcelona, heading champion Felipe Drugovich.

Qualifying took place on a damp but drying track, and the session was classified as wet in the first half. A number of drivers topped the times during this period, and it was David Schumacher who topped the times as the session moved on to dry running.

The times tumbled as the circuit surface got drier, but it wasn’t until the closing minutes that RP Motorsport driver Drugovich put himself back to the top. The positions changed once again though in the final minute, and with Drugovich being one of several drivers caught abusing track limits at Turn 3, it ended up with Campos Racing’s Siebert taking pole.

Drugovich still lines up second, 0.214 seconds behind, and means he cannot match the championship’s all-time record for poles now.

Carlin’s Matheus Iorio was third fastest, ahead of Drugovich’s team-mate Schumacher, who is only in his second Formula 3 meeting.

Cameron Das, another who looked like he would take pole at one point, ended up fifth, ahead of closely tied Teo Martin Motorsport team-mates Bent Viscaal and Aldo Festante. Viscaal, Iorio and Siebert are in a three-way fight for second in the standings.

Guilherme Samaia was eighth, with Javier Gonzalez and Drivex School’s debutant Patrick Schott completing the top 10.

Kaylen Frederick was 11th fastest on his return to the championship, with fellow American Brad Benavides 13th on his single-seater debutant. Current Italian F2000 Trophy champion Aleessandro Bracalente was slowest.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Marcos Siebert Campos Racing 1m40.657s
2 Felipe Drugovich RP Motorsport +0.214s
3 Matheus Iorio Carlin +0.385s
4 David Schumacher RP Motorsport +0.403s
5 Cameron Das Carlin +0.603s
6 Bent Viscaal Teo Martin Motorsport +0.819s
7 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +0.885s
8 Guilherme Samaia RP Motorsport +1.068s
9 Javier Gonzalez Drivex School +1.239s
10 Patrick Schott Drivex School +1.411s
11 Kaylen Frederick RP Motorsport +1.536s
12 Dev Gore Carlin +2.010s
13 Brad Benavides Campos Racing +2.558s
14 Lukas Dunner Drivex School +2.753s
15 Alessandro Bracalente RP Motorsport +3.839s