Home Featured Mansell beats Lindblad to claim Barcelona F3 pole

Mansell beats Lindblad to claim Barcelona F3 pole

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Christian Mansell edged out Arvid Lindblad to claim his first Formula 3 pole position in an extremely close qualifying session at Barcelona.

With one of the last laps of the session, ART Grand Prix’s Mansell denied Prema rookie Lindblad by just 0.036 seconds. Mansell’s team-mate Nikola Tsolov was only 0.003s further back in third, with Luke Browning also less than a tenth from pole in fourth for Hitech GP.

Lindblad’s more experienced team-mates Dino Beganovic and Gabriele Mini are set to share the eighth row for both races.

After drivers completed just a handful of laps each in practice, they all followed a similar strategy to each other in qualifying with three solitary flying laps across three sets of tyres.

The Prema trio of Beganovic, Mini and Lindblad took turns at the top of the times but it was ART’s Laurens van Hoepen out front after the first flying laps, ahead of Leonardo Fornaroli and Mansell.

Browning went from fifth to first on his second set of tyres, with Mari Boya falling just 0.006s short of matching his time – a strong recovery for the local Campos Racing driver after crashing due to an apparent brake failure in practice without logging a representative time. Mansell was third once again.

In the final shootout on the third and final set of tyres, Browning lowered his benchmark by nearly four tenths of a second, only for Lindblad to better that by two hundredths.

With the ART cars running later on track, Tsolov then just fell short of matching Lindblad’s time before Mansell posted a 1m28.463s to claim pole as one of the last drivers across the line.

Oliver Goethe took fifth for Campos in front of Fornaroli. Martinius Stenshorne was seventh followed by van Hoepen, Alex Dunne and Sebastian Montoya. Sami Meguetounif is set to start the sprint race on reversed-grid pole with Boya lining up alongside.

Mini was unable to improve on his last lap and fell from fifth to 16th, one place behind Beganovic, who lifted himself up from 29th to 15th on his last attempt. He had run well wide over the kerbs on his first two flying laps and had his second effort deleted for exceeding track limits at Turn 9.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m28.463s 11
2 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m28.499s +0.036s 12
3 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m28.502s +0.039s 11
4 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m28.519s +0.056s 12
5 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m28.570s +0.107s 11
6 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m28.672s +0.209s 12
7 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m28.687s +0.224s 12
8 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m28.707s +0.244s 11
9 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m28.711s +0.248s 11
10 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m28.748s +0.285s 11
11 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m28.784s +0.321s 11
12 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m28.808s +0.345s 12
13 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m28.873s +0.410s 11
14 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.917s +0.454s 11
15 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m28.965s +0.502s 11
16 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m28.986s +0.523s 12
17 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m29.013s +0.550s 12
18 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m29.032s +0.569s 12
19 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m29.095s +0.632s 12
20 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m29.100s +0.637s 12
21 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing 1m29.102s +0.639s 11
22 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.184s +0.721s 11
23 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.299s +0.836s 12
24 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing 1m29.317s +0.854s 11
25 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.345s +0.882s 11
26 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.360s +0.897s 12
27 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m29.366s +0.903s 12
28 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing 1m29.393s +0.930s 12
29 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.509s +1.046s 11
30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m29.801s +1.338s 11