Home Formula 2 F2 leader Paul Aron heads Barcelona practice session

F2 leader Paul Aron heads Barcelona practice session

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Formula 2 championship leader Paul Aron was fastest in free practice ahead of round six of the season at Barcelona.

The AIX Racing duo of Joshua Duerksen and Taylor Barnard were first on track together with Rodin Motorsport’s Ritomo Miyata, who would complete the most laps of anyone as he adjusted back to the F2 car after racing in last weekend’s Le Mans 24 Hours.

Miyata was fastest until Andrea Kimi Antonelli went 0.005 seconds quicker, before Antonelli’s team-mate Ollie Bearman found another two tenths of a second to head a Prema one-two.

A flurry of faster times followed around the mid-point the session, including Aron’s effort of 1m26.922s. The Hitech GP driver’s time would go unbeaten as focus turned to longer runs over the remainder of the session.

Enzo Fittipaldi was second for Van Amersfoort Racing with Franco Colapinto third for MP Motorsport, followed by the DAMS duo of Jak Crawford and Juan Manuel Correa.

Bearman and Antonelli ended up 11th and 14th respectively, with the latter oversteering into the gravel trap on the outside of the final corner at the end of the session.

The top 19 drivers were covered by less than a second, with the Invicta pair of Kush Maini and Gabriel Bortoleto slowest of them. Zane Maloney was just over a second off the pace in 20th.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m26.922 15
2 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.058s +0.136s 13
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m27.102s +0.180s 14
4 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m27.250s +0.328s 13
5 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m27.263s +0.341s 13
6 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m27.304s +0.382s 13
7 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m27.320s +0.398s 11
8 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m27.355s +0.433s 13
9 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.367s +0.445s 14
10 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m27.379s +0.457s 13
11 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m27.416s +0.494s 14
12 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m27.435s +0.513s 14
13 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m27.523s +0.601s 14
14 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m27.634s +0.712s 15
15 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m27.639s +0.717s 24
16 Joshua Duerksen AIX Racing 1m27.742s +0.820s 19
17 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.818s +0.896s 14
18 Kush Maini Invicta Racing 1m27.865s +0.943s 13
19 Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta Racing 1m27.914s +0.992s 11
20 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m27.994s +1.072s 14
21 Roman Stanek Trident 1m28.124s +1.202s 13
22 Taylor Barnard AIX Racing 1m28.314s +1.392s 19