Home Formula 4Italian F4 Maisano on top in final practice session at Imola

Maisano on top in final practice session at Imola

by Aditya Banerjee
Brandon Maisano

Photo: ACI Sport

Prema Powerteam driver Brandon Maisano topped the third Friday practice session in the second round of the Italian F4 season at Imola.

The 21-year-old Frenchman once again spent most of the session in the shadows of younger teammate Lance Stroll, but a late flyer put him ahead of the Canadian, and he lowered the benchmark further on his last lap. Stroll settled for second, the two Prema cars once again in a league of their own, being the only cars to lap in the 1m46s.

Mattia Drudi was best of the rest yet again, beating out Euronova driver Leonardo Pulcini to third. Championship leader Andrea Russo was fifth fastest, ahead of Matteo Cairoli and SMP-backed driver Ivan Matveev.

American driver Zack Dante had a comparatively stronger session, winding up eighth quickest ahead of Swiss driver Edi Haxhiu in ninth. Behind them, Gustavo Bandeira edged out Alain Valente for tenth despite the pair having set identical lap times, the Brazilian having set his time earlier.

Session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 1:46.821
2 Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 1:46.958 +0.137
3 Mattia Drudi F & M S.R.L 1:47.244 +0.423
4 Leonardo Pulcini Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:47.417 +0.596
5 Andrea Russo Diegi Motorsport 1:47.837 +1.016
6 Matteo Cairoli Antonelli Motorsport 1:47.875 +1.054
7 Ivan Matveev SMP Racing by Euronova 1:47.951 +1.130
8 Zackary Dante Malta Formula Racing 1:48.197 +1.376
9 Edi Haxhiu Cram Motorsport 1:48.348 +1.527
10 Gustavo Bandeira DAV Racing 1:48.391 +1.570
11 Alain Valente Jenzer Motorsport 1:48.391 +1.570
12 Keith Camilleri Malta Formula Racing 1:48.583 +1.762
13 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport 1:48.649 +1.828
14 Takashi Kasai Prema Powerteam 1:48.717 +1.896
15 Andrea Fontana Euronova Racing by Fortec 1:48.807 +2.986
16 Mahaveer Raghunathan F & M S.R.L 1:48.931 +3.110
17 Ali Al-Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.022 +3.201
18 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport 1:49.245 +3.424
19 Bar Baruch Israel F4 1:49.421 +3.600
20 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.554 +3.733
21 Giovanni Altoe F & M S.R.L 1:49.857 +4.036
22 Jonathan Giudice Antonelli Motorsport 1:50.625 +4.804