Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Maclennan ends National FF1600 season at Silverstone with sixth win

Maclennan ends National FF1600 season at Silverstone with sixth win

by Steve Whitfield

Newly crowned champion Neil Maclennan ended the BRSCC National FF1600 season with a second Silverstone win, meaning he was beaten just once over the seven races this year.

As in Saturday’s first race, victory was contested between Maclennan and Team Dolan’s 2019 champion Ross Martin on Silverstone’s International layout.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Maclennan led away from pole at the start, while Martin came under pressure from B-M Racing’s Rory Smith for second place – the same position they were fighting over in the standings.

After failing to make a move stick, Smith lost third to Souley Motorsport’s fast-starting Ollie White.

Don Hardman Racing’s Joey Foster also tried to pass Smith for fourth into Club at the end of lap one but the cars touched wheels, sending Smith spinning down the order. Low Dempsey Racing’s Jonathan Browne and Bryce Aron took advantage to move up to fourth and fifth.

A three-way battle developed at the front, and Martin took the lead from Maclennan with five minutes remaining. But he ran wide at Stowe next time by after defending from Maclennan at the end of the Hangar Straight, allowing Maclennan to slip up the inside at Vale.

White then also passed Martin for second, but the Soct swept back by down the Hangar Straight. Martin was able to pull away from White as they negotiated backmarkers, then closed back in on Maclennan for the lead.

On the final tour Martin made a bid for the win around the outside of Stowe but Maclennan held on to win, with White two seconds back in third.

Browne prevailed over Aron in a four-way battle for fourth, interrupted by a brief rain shower, with Foster and Souley’s Samuel Harrison finishing close behind.

PWR1 Racing’s Alex Walker was eighth, with B-M’s Jamie Sharp and Smith a distant ninth and tenth. Finishing down the order meant Smith lost the title runner-up spot to Martin by three points.

Privateer George McDonald was the top BRSCC Northern FF1600 runner in 18th place.

Race results (12 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing 13m48.588s
2 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.209s
3 Ollie White Souley Motorsport +2.630s
4 Jonathan Browne Low Dempsey Racing +6.269s
5 Bryce Aron Low Dempsey Racing +7.385s
6 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +7.617s
7 Samuel Harrison Souley Motorsport +8.908s
8 Alex Walker PWR1 Racing +9.837s
9 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +13.943s
10 Rory Smith B-M Racing +14.358s
11 David McArthur B-M Racing +19.516s
12 Jackson Lee Low Dempsey Racing +19.719s
13 Tom Ward B-M Racing +25.403s
14 Cameron Jackson B-M Racing +25.667s
15 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +26.792s
16 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +28.395s
17 Horatio Fitz-Simon Kevin Mills Racing +36.973s
18 George McDonald +38.900s
19 Peter Daly +46.090s
20 Jason Cheetham +1m11.829s
21 Stuart Kestenbaum +1 lap
22 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +1 lap
23 Lorna Vickers +1 lap
Ret John Svensson John’s Racing Team
Ret Luke Cooper Swift Cooper
Ret Matt Cowley Team Dolan
Ret Grant Palmer Low Dempsey Racing
Ret Reece Lycett Kevin Mills Racing
Ret Neil McArthur B-M Racing
Fastest lap: Maclennan, 1m11.726s

Championship standings
1 Maclennan 225   2 Martin 162   3 Smith 159   4 Browne 150   5 Aron 117   6 Chris Middlehurst 108   7 Sharp 89   8 White 59   9 Cowley 52   10 Cooper 46