Home Formula 4French F4 Maceo Capietto wins first French F4 race of weekend at Magny-Cours

Maceo Capietto wins first French F4 race of weekend at Magny-Cours

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: KSP

Maceo Capietto became the fourth different winner of the French Formula 4 season after an issue denied Esteban Masson in the closing stages of the first race at Magny-Cours.

Masson had looked on course for his second win of the campaign after leading away from pole and pulling out almost a six-second gap, but slowed in the final couple of minutes.

Capietto capatalised to take victory ahead of Hugh Barter and Daniel Ligier, the trio having been embroiled in a three-way battle for second for most of the race.

Barter lost second to Capietto in the early stages and, despite a late challenge at Melbourne hairpin, was unable to retake Capietto for the win.

Masson held on to take fourth, eight seconds behind,  with Dario Cabanelas taking the French F4 Junior win in fifth ahead of Alessandro Giusti.

Gael Julien finished seventh ahead Enzo Gerazi and Noah Andy, while Pierre-Alexandre Provost rounded out the top ten.

Owen Tangavelou and Aiden Neate retired after a collision while contesting eighth. Neate had been attempting to recover after running wide on the opening lap and losing fourth place, and he now slips from first to third in the Junior points.

Race results

Pos Name Time
1 Maceo Capietto 13 laps
2 Hugh Barter +0.519s
3 Daniel Ligier +1.082s
4 Esteban Masson +7.983s
5 Dario Cabanelas +8.238s
6 Alessandro Guisti +8.938s
7 Gael Julien +9.462s
8 Enzo Geraci +29.896s
9 Noah Andy +33.229s
10 Pierre-Alexandre Provost +35.358s
11 Adam Szydlowski +49.499s
12 Vingesh Kadarabad +50.190s
13 Angelina Favario +1m07.785s
Ret Owen Tangavelou
Ret Aiden Neate
Fastest lap: Masson, 1m39.960s

Championship standings
FIA   1 Barter 61   2 Masson 60   3 Capietto 47   4 Julien 44   5 Ligier 40   6 Thanapongpan Sutumno 31   7 Andy 22   8 Tangavelou 20   9 Szydlowski 15   10 Kadarabad 10
Junior   1 Cabanelas 71   2 Giusti 63   3 Neate 62   4 Geraci 45   5 Provost 40