Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Luca Ghiotto secures double pole for Alps finale at Imola

Luca Ghiotto secures double pole for Alps finale at Imola

by Valentin Khorounzhiy


Formula Renault 2.0 Alps title challenger Luca Ghiotto has taken pole for both races of the final weekend at Imola as he topped the timesheets in the quicker Group B.

Ghiotto, who currently sits 49 points adrift of first with 50 available over the weekend, narrowly managed to clear Antonio Fuoco‘s benchmark time from Group A, and will start alongside the championship leader.

The first 30-minute session saw Fuoco fight for the top spot with practice pacesetter Hans Villemi, who joined Prema for the final weekend of the season. The duo constantly one-upped each other’s times as the track conditions improved, but, finally, Fuoco edged the Estonian out in the end, forcing him to settle for a second row starting spot.

Bruno Bonifacio secured third in Group A with a last-lap effort, overhauling Kuba Dalewski, with Ukyo Sasahara completing the top five.

Group B was a change of pace, as it was dominated by one driver, with Ghiotto setting several early benchmark laps and maintaining the lead until track conditions worsened. The grid order wound up frozen with several minutes to go, when drivers found themselves unable to imrpove, which allowed series debutant Matt Parry to secure third on the grid.

The top five in the session was completed by Simon Gachet and the Tech 1 pair of Luke Chudleigh and Egor Orudzhev.

For race two, the front row order will be the same, with Ghiotto leading Fuoco.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam 1:52.023
2 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 1:52.168
3 Matt Parry Koiranen GP 1:52.661
4 Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:52.228
5 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:52.696
6 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:52.384
7 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 1:52.970
8 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport 1:52.788
9 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:53.046
10 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing 1:52.834
11 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport 1:53.274
12 Tanart Sathienthirakul ARTA Engineering 1:53.339
13 Konstantin Tereshchenko Interwetten.com Racing 1:53.795
14 Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing 1:54.360
15 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport 1:54.275
16 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Grand Prix 1:54.468
17 Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering 1:54.370
18 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing 1:54.561
19 Nikita Zlobin SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:54.489
20 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport 1:54.595
21 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing 1:54.506
22 Patric Armand Tech 1 Racing 1:55.308
23 Semen Evstigneev SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:55.002
24 Alex Bosak SMP Racing by Koiranen 1:55.397
25 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse 1:56.612
26 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing 1:55.674
27 Danyil Pronenko GSK Grand Prix 1:56.693
28 Daniele Cazzaniga Viola Formula Racing 1:55.706