Home Formula 3GB3 Louis Foster fastest in pre-event BRDC British F3 test at Donington

Louis Foster fastest in pre-event BRDC British F3 test at Donington

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Louis Foster went fastest for the second day in a row in the pre-event BRDC British Formula 3 test on Donington Park’s Grand Prix layout.

The Double R Racing driver started Friday’s running by immediately beating the benchmark time he set on Thursday, and with track conditions improving very little that ended up being the fastest laptime of the test.

Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick was second best, 0.197s behind and just ahead of Foster’s team-mate Benjamin Pedersen.

Douglas Motorsport duo Ulysse De Pauw and Kiern Jewiss were on the pace again in fourth and fifth, but Hitech GP’s Kush Maini was able to sneak between them in the day’s combined classification by topping the last of four sessions.

Another to improve in the final session was Lanan Racing’s Bart Horsten, who was forced out of the morning’s track action due to his car being repaired after a crash with Chris Dittmann Racing’s Nico Varrone on Thursday.

Pedersen just pipped Maini to top spot in the second of the sessions that Horsten missed, and Maini was denied first place again in the first afternoon session by Frederick.

Carter Williams was 11th fastest overall for JHR Developments, which is making its series debut this weekend, and was 0.678s off Foster’s best lap. His team-mate Max Marzorati was the only driver in the 19-car field not within a second of the pace.


Test day two results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Double R Racing 1m25.283s 62
2 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m25.480s +0.197s 61
3 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing 1m25.493s +0.210s 65
4 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport 1m25.497s +0.214s 59
5 Kush Maini Hitech GP 1m25.512s +0.229s 57
6 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport 1m25.539s +0.256s 56
7 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing 1m25.734s +0.451s 61
8 Piers Prior Lanan Racing 1m25.815s +0.532s 54
9 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing 1m25.829s +0.546s 28
10 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport 1m25.937s +0.654s 61
11 Carter Williams JHR Developments 1m25.961s +0.678s 58
12 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m25.970s +0.687s 63
13 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m26.068s +0.785s 57
14 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed 1m26.070s +0.787s 58
15 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin 1m26.088s +0.805s 57
16 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed 1m26.099s +0.816s 57
17 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing 1m26.118s +0.835s 60
18 Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing 1m26.280s +0.997s 58
19 Max Marzorati JHR Developments 1m26.399s +1.116s 59