Home Featured Logan Sargeant wins first Formula Renault NEC race at Monza

Logan Sargeant wins first Formula Renault NEC race at Monza

by Bethonie Waring


R-ace GP?s Logan Sargeant claimed victory in an entertaining opening Formula Renault NEC race at Monza.

Sargeant snatched the lead from pole sitter Charles Milesi on the second lap, but remained under pressure throughout the race.

The top six ran nose-to-tail early in the race, with positions changing every lap. Sargeant was eventually able to pull out a small gap as Max Fewtrell and Lorenzo Colombo battled for second, but the recovering Milesi was quickly able to close the gap once he returned to the lead of the chasing pack.

Milesi closed onto the back of Sargeant, leaving the rest of the pack a few seconds behind, and was able to pull alongside the race leader. Sargeant fought back, forcing Milesi onto the gravel and dropping him back to third.

Sargeant was unchallenged throughout the remainder of the race, finishing more than three seconds ahead of Fewtrell.

Fewtrell held onto second after a late attack from Victor Martins and Frank Bird, while Milesi dropped back to fifth in the closing stages of the race.

Colombo took sixth, ahead of Thomas Neubauer, Phil Hill, Gabriel Gandula, and Doureid Ghattas.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Logan Sargeant R-ace GP 31m52.604s
2 Max Fewtrell R-ace GP +3.248s
3 Victor Martins R-ace GP +4.782s
4 Frank Bird Tech 1 Racing +5.736s
5 Charles Milesi R-ace GP +5.977s
6 Lorenzo Colombo JD Motorsport +6.844s
7 Thomas Neubauer Tech 1 Racing +13.174s
8 Phil Hill Anders Motorsport +15.170s
9 Gabriel Gandula R-ace GP +31.954s
10 Doureid Ghattas Anders Motorsport +41.382s
11 Sharon Scolari ScoRace Team +1m28.488s
12 Zichao Wang Cram Competition +1 lap
Pole: Milesi, 1m49.515s? ? ? Fastest lap: Milesi, 1m51.745s

Championship Standings
1?Sargeant 70? ?2 Alex Peroni 60? ?3 Martins 53? ?4?Christian Lundgaard 48? ?5?Neubauer 42? ?6?Bird 42? ?7?Ghattas 35? ?8 Gandula 34? ?9?Milesi 33? ?10?Neil Verhagen 31