Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Logan Sargeant ends wet FIA F3 test at Valencia on top for Prema

Logan Sargeant ends wet FIA F3 test at Valencia on top for Prema

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA F3 Championship

Logan Sargeant topped both sessions for Prema on a wet final day of the post-season FIA Formula 3 Championship test at Valencia.

Heavy rain hammered the Ricardo Tormo circuit early in the morning, with laptimes on the wet tyres over 10 seconds slower than the previous day’s benchmark.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Andreas Estner was the first to set a representative laptime, but the displacement of water meant times improved drastically and Renault juniors Max Fewtrell and Christian Lundgaard rose to the top.

There were several drivers who had offs in the wet, including Ferdinand Habsburg and Dan Ticktum who were both testing the car as practice for a return to the Macau Grand Prix.

Sargeant came into his own in the last half-hour of the session, setting personal bests on multiple occasions and becoming the only driver during the day to lap in the 1m33s.

The circuit got wetter prior to the afternoon session, and it was Trident’s Lirim Zendeli who looked most comfortable in the conditions.

A crash for Campos Racing’s karting graduate David Vidales stopped the session, and when it restarted it was Sargeant who was fastest again before another red flag interruption.

ART Grand Prix’s Lundgaard was second fastest overall, ahead of HWA Racelab’s Jake Hughes and Hitech GP’s Fewtrell. Formula Regional European champion Frederik Vesti was next best behind Sargeant in the afternoon and ninth overall.

Enaam Ahmed went sixth fastest in the morning for Campos, then handed over his car to former Formula 1 driver Roberto Merhi – who earlier this year trialled US Racing’s FREC car to help the team.


Combined day three times
Pos? Driver Team Morning Afternoon
1 Logan Sargeant Prema 1:33.705 1:34.645
2 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1:34.130 1:35.363
3 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1:34.322 1:35.074
4 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1:34.415 1:34.995
5 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1:34.578 1:35.803
6 Enaam Ahmed Campos Racing 1:34.584 no time
7 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1:34.672 1:35.528
8 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1:34.715 1:35.196
9 Frederik Vesti Prema 1:34.719 1:34.977
10 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1:34.861 1:34.981
11 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1:34.874 1:35.709
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema 1:34.875 1:35.555
13 Jack Doohan Hitech GP 1:34.889 1:35.326
14 Igor Fraga Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:34.899 1:35.614
15 Olli Caldwell Prema 1:34.940 1:36.464
16 Clement Novalak Carlin 1:34.983 1:35.750
17 Simo Laaksonen HWA Racelab 1:35.016 1:35.583
18 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1:35.025 1:35.621
19 Ferdinand Habsburg ART Grand Prix 1:35.084 1:35.625
20 Sophia Floersch HWA Racelab 1:25.127 1:26.285
21 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1:35.342 1:35.299
22 Billy Monger Carlin 1:35.304 1:36.282
23 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.395 1:35.903
24 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1:35.537 1:36.180
25 David Schumacher Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:22.034 1:35.651
26 David Vidales Campos Racing 1:35.666 1:36.792
27 Roberto Merhi Campos Racing no time 1:35.773
28 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.806 1:35.880
29 Joao Vieira Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 1:35.809 1:36.032
30 Charles Leong Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.831 1:36.153
31 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1:36.285 1:37.861